Trying to get a handle on meals/meal times here

The eating schedule here in Merida is quite different that most places in the US. Probably even quite different than most other places in Mexico.

Here, breakfast is about 9am; you eat tacos, tortas, etc. Lunch (comida) is the BIG meal of the day starting between 1:30-3:30. With dinner (cena) quite late 9-11pm – light food; tamales, sopas, caldos, etc.

I haven’t quite got the hang of this yet. I don’t typically eat in the morning; I like my coffee as I tour the garden, bird watch, read the paper, check email, etc. Around 11 I am getting hungry, and as there is not typically anything worthwhile in the fridge unless there are leftovers I snack on fruit, nuts, chips, whatever is handy. I don’t even think about cooking.

Today as I took a stroll around the neighborhood; I was checking the status of the work in the park by the church at La Ermita, I though about making lunch. Problem is by this time of day the stuff in the little neighborhood mercado is either old, or picked over, or fly covered. So unless you thought about lunch early and pulled something out of the freezer (congeleador) you are reduced to more fruit, nuts, chips, etc. OR and this is my favorite – you go down the street to the Pollo Asado guy and buy a grilled chicken, complete with cabbage salad, rice, soup, tortillas, and salsa for 35pesos. Now that’s what I’m talking about!

Or even better yet, send husband for the pollo! Now this is living!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in cena, comida, Cooking, pollo asado. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trying to get a handle on meals/meal times here

  1. tranquilita – nope not mutant, Bachoco or Crio, now I can’t remember which, but one of the BIG egg/chicken producers. I asked once because I was trying to figure out how they do it so inexpensively. Oh and so tasty. They have a great rub they use, I asked about that as well but it’s a trade secret.

  2. Tranquilita says:

    Hope they’re not mutant pollos 😛

  3. I’m not sure we should let the rest of the world in on this Treasure – c81 x68y70I’ll have to edit my terms, eh?

  4. Theresa says:

    Oops, I meant to ask the address of the chicken place. I am having problems posting to blogs (mine included) and didn’t proofread.regards,Theresa

  5. Theresa says:

    Debi,That chicken looks really good! I guess it goes with the themem but cena is a light supper or dinner (depending upon where you come from NOB), comida is the big meal, lunch if you are from the east or west and dinner if you are from the midwest ( “comida” means “food” or “meal”).Cuba had the same general eating pattern,when my mom was growing up. Everyone went home for lunch at 1 pm, ate a big meal,took a nap and life started up again at 4 pm. I like it, but maybe I am genetically hardwired for it?regards,Theresa

Leave a Reply

