la vida buena

The orange trees are in bloom again – Now, say that with a slightly Katherine Hepburn accent – Actually it’s not just the oranges, but also the limes.

I have a naranja agria (sour orange) right out my backdoor, and I’ve planted a dulce (sweet orange) and a persa limon (large sweet lime) in the garden. We get our indios (native small green limes) from the parts of the neighbors tree that hang over our fence.

Most of our neighbors also have citrus trees of some sort and they are all gloriously in bloom right now. The scent is absolutely intoxicating.

I can’t believe I’m living this life, where I can take my coffee cup and sit under an orange tree in bloom and just sit and enjoy it.

Life is good!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in la vida buena, orange blossoms. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to la vida buena

  1. Tom and Debi says:

    Hi Steve – first, thanks for stopping by, no matter how you got here. And No, I don’t mind at all if you add me to your blog. I read your’s frequently.I don’t know of anyone here with an actual NOB ‘lemon’ tree. I haven’t quite found anything to take the place of the lemon rind in cooking; the flavor is easy enough, oh, but that lovely fat essence of the rind, UMMMMMMM

  2. Steve Cotton says:

    Do any of your neighbors have one of the elusive lemon trees? I had no idea they were so rare in Mexico.I hope you do not mind that I added you to my blog list — as a result of Nancy’s post.

  3. ChicaFeliz says:

    Damn, now that does sound like a good life! Rest assured that the rest of us are indeed living vicariously thru you!Pictures of your trees please!

Leave a Reply

