Echeveria Elegans – Mexican Snowball – Hen n Chick

What ever you call it – it is downright purdy!


When I purchased this plant it was a single plant in a small plastic pot. It resembles the hen n chicks I always had in the States, except for the color. This plants is a silvery blue/green.

I planted it in a standard soil with a little bark fiber for drainage in a cement pot and put it on the pation out where it gets full baking sun all day coupled with the heat emanating up from the cement floor. It loves it here! It has put out quite a few ‘chicks’, and now look at this beautiful flower spike.

Just had to share!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Echeveria Elegans, Hen n Chick, Mexican Snowball. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Echeveria Elegans – Mexican Snowball – Hen n Chick

  1. Sorry… the link change when I changed the title upon finding out the actual name of the plant!!

    Here's the link:

    http://gregoryagogo.multiply.com/photos/album/183/Echeveria_Elegans_Mexican_Snowball_-_Awesome_Succulent

  2. Awesome isn't it?! I'm always amazed at a new succulent or cactus bloom! Succulents are like visitors from another planet!

    I discovered my Post a Echeveria Elegans flowers just this week!

    Check out my pics!

    http://gregoryagogo.multiply.com/photos/album/183/Pink_Flowered_Succulent_-_Awesome

  3. Tom and Debi says:

    Brenda, the photo doesn’t fully express the color of the flower they are a gorgeous coral pink, indeed – lovelySteve, we aer trying, so far so good. And just as the cactus needs some water, sometimes we just have to have some a margarita and some a/c.Theresa, I think when you were over the other day you called them hen n chicks, and I said No!, the color is just so different from what I was used to. In your infinite wisdom….you open your mind and all things become knownAbrazos allDebi

  4. Oh, I love succulents! That is lovely.regards,Theresa

  5. Steve Cotton says:

    May we all thrive as well in the soil of Mexico.

Leave a Reply

