Tropical Fruit – Sapote

These are a pair of Sapote.
The outer skin has a feel similar to a Kiwi, but without the fuzz. These fruit are best eaten when they are quite soft to the touch.

Open them up and inside is a single shiny black seed about the size of an almond or just a tad bigger.

I think this is one of the sweeter fruits so prefer just 1/2 a larger, or a small size fruit as a snack.
I serve them just cut, and with a spoon; the flavor is like a cooked spiced pear; you know, poach a pear with simple sugar, cloves, allspice, cinnamon, and voila, Zapote.
I’m not an ice cream eater, but I can see how they’d be a great addition to a bowl of plain vanilla ice cream. Or so I’ve been told.
Go, Enjoy!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Sapote, Tropical Fruit, Zapote. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tropical Fruit – Sapote

  1. suman says:

    This is a delicious ,sweet, & good fruit.

    suman
    Free Satellite TV

  2. Tom and Debi says:

    Yes, Zapotes are quite refreshing, especially when cold, but No Bliss not like Mamey at all. Mamey do taste a bit like a cooked sweet potato, and I have used the same spices to approziamate sweet potatoe pie flavor when making mamey custard.I love the fun fruits n veggies here, and all so easily available, go, try, experiment, appreciate…Debi

  3. 1st Mate says:

    Is it the same thing as mamey? Looks like it, and you use a spoon to eat mamey too. Does it taste a little like a baked yam?

  4. Yum! I’ve always been too afraid to buy fruit I don’t recognize, so I appreciate the tutorial!

  5. glorv1 says:

    That Zapote looks delicious. I’ve never seen anything like it. The different fruits you have over there are unique.

  6. Tranquilita says:

    It’s very refreshing eating zapotes! Yum, yum!I want to meed Corre and Tech!

Leave a Reply

