Orchids I keep – Oeceoclades maculata

I keep orchids. I wish I could say I grow orchids, but in reality I acquire them, try to do what I read or hear works, and they usually manage to make it. Sometimes they even bloom.
In January of 2007, on a trip to Chichen Itza with friends I acquired this orchid. (don’t ask)It was in loose rubble of stones and woody debris. I decided since I found it in ground I’d plant it in ground, this is called terrestrial.
Orchids are quite difficult to name until they bloom. For whatever reason I have not been able to find a source to identify orchids by leaf, only by bloom.
Therefore until it bloomed this was just simply my Chichen Orchid.
So, I have had this orchid since January 2007 and it is blooming. This is a small plant and the blooms are no bigger than a dime. The flowers are not flashy or showy, and in all honesty kind of a boring little flower, but hey, it’s mine, and it’s blooming. I’m thrilled.

the pencil is for scale, just a standard #2 type pencil

According to my Orchid book this particular orchid is NOT native to the Yucatan, but is considered a noxious weed. This plant made it’s way to the N.American continent from Asia in grass seed.

I don’t have the ability to take a good close-up so have pulled this photo from the internet just so you can see a good representation.

Oeceoclades maculata – Photo © Peter M.C. Werner

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Oeceoclades maculata, orchids, Orquideas. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Orchids I keep – Oeceoclades maculata

  1. 1st Mate says:

    It’s a sweet little orchid. Anything can be called a noxious weed if in someone’s opinion there’s too much of it around, I’ve noticed. Cats, dogs, plants, people…

  2. glorv1 says:

    How great that you found it and have nursed it to flowering. I have no idea what it is and have never had luck with orchids. I tried once. Continued luck with your beautiful find.

  3. Jonna says:

    I’ve had many of those “found” orchids over the years. Most of the blooms were… understated, that’s what I’ll call them. Some though came through with the big flash. Lately I’ve been reading a lot of orchid forums and pages, contemplating what I can grow at the house in lieu of being able to be there. I’m happy that I know someone who is growing them, millions of questions will follow I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

