Merida Insider update

Merida, and the Yucatan are fortunate to have MexicoBob, hosting, moderating and monitoring an online forum about all things Yucatan; meridainsider.com (affectionatly known as MI).

Unfortunately MI got itself hacked last Tuesday. The hacker got not just MI but unfortunately he/she/it got all of Bob’s sites. Bob has been busy putting things right since, dealing of course with his business accounts first. He still has much more to do. MI had been quite a job to maintain, requiring almost constant attention. The work of bringing it back up would take far more effort than he can justify at this point. So sadly, for now at least, the site will remain dead.

Thank you Bob, for all your effort, and here’s hoping that you will be able to once again provide this valuable resource to not only those of us residing in Merida and Yucatan, but also to those wishing to visit.

to the hacker, shame on you, you low-life!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Merida Insider. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Merida Insider update

  1. I live in the Lake Chapala area and also read the Insider on a regular basis. Like ADO said, it was like listening to some friends chat. Hope Bob can find the time for a resurgence. Be sure to post on Chapala.com when it comes back up as I know there are a lot of readers here.

  2. Blair says:

    Wow, I'm blown away. Just sold our house in Canada and I was relying on the Mexico Bobs and all the help MI and its helpfull blogggers provided expats on Merida and Mexico. I hope the %^&$#*?* hacker is stuck headfirst in a snowbank permanently! Bob…if your listening..MI is an institutionn and resource to those dreaming or acting on a new lifestyle. I hope you find the energy and time to bring it back. Blair and suzanne on Calle62

  3. Sam926 says:

    So sorry to hear about the idiot who hacked in. Miss MI terribly. Planning to move in a year or so and was relying heavily on MI to get us through the relocation. Miss you mexicobob…you did a terrific job and we miss you and MI more than you know.

  4. Hello, I am in Progreso now with my son and am looking for an apartment or house in Progreso Centro for approx. MXN 2000/mo (utilities included and furnished), and for about the next 5 months to start. If you have anything please email me at rentinprogreso@gmail.comThank you.p.s. I too relied heavily on MI.

  5. Tom and Debi says:

    Glorv – I checked the mexicobob.blogspot and No, it is a different mexicobob.Debi

  6. john says:

    I hope they come back,a great site.

  7. Joe says:

    What about a 5 or 10 dollar a year use fee To help defray the cost of running Mi.

  8. Tom and Debi says:

    I’ve emailed with Bob, and this info was taken directly from his reply. He is a busy, busy man, and MI really is/was a lot of work. I bemoan it’s loss as much as anyone because it was my personal file cabinet for lots of important stuff. It’s tough because we never got the chance to pull what we need out.Well maybe it will come back once his situation settles down.Are you reading this Bob? Do you hear us? We Really Miss MI!

  9. Kathy says:

    Oh man! I thought it was just another software problem. I can’t believe it will be forgotten. There was some amazing information on that site…Thanks so much for the update (found you from Yolisto)

  10. ADO says:

    Losing Mexico Insider is quite a blow to the expat and ex-expat community of the Yucatan. From my pre-retirement perch in Silver Spring, Md., tuning in to Mexico Bob’s site was like listening to some friends chat over the backyard fence about neighborhood events.If Mexico Bob is watching in on any of this, tell him I’m willing to pledge my $US 50 to get MI back on its feet. How about it folks!? (Mexico Bob has my contact info. I’d be happy to deposit it into any US or Mexican bank account.)Meanwhile, am happy to have found this site, via Google, and to have visited Yolisto. Looking forward to MI’s return, Pennsy Al

  11. glorv1 says:

    Deb, are you talking about Mexico Bob’s blog here on blogspont? How terrible these hackers are. My friend yaya also got hacked. She believes it was from one blog she visited. Hopefully it doesn’t keep happening. Thx for info.

  12. Bummer, I am sad to hear that. I meet so many people that are now my friends through MI. regards,Theresa

  13. Sharon says:

    Thank you for the information. I really miss Merida Insider. Since I cannot live in Merida for a few years yet, I relied on the site for my Merida fix. I can still access my favorite blogs about Merida though, so all is not lost. Sharon

Leave a Reply

