the Chicken or the Egg?

What came first – the Chicken or the Egg?
So I went to the supermarket yesterday. My local Chedraui, just about 1/2 mile away.

I was wandering with my list and trying to figure out what was so strange. I was hearing peeps, little teeny baby chicken peeps. From different carts I heard cheeps, from two young girls peering into a small paperbag I heard cheeps, then as I got closer and closer to the eggs, yes, on my list. There they were – boxes upon boxes of pollitos, tiny little yellow baby chicks.
It was a Crio promotion, Crio being a large supplier of both eggs and chicken.

Oh, please don’t even think you wouldn’t have taken one! Well I wanted 3, but didn’t want to be hoggish, so only asked for 2. And since they’ve lived through the night I am feeling confident, if I can just keep them warm through this freezing 70 degree weather.

Good Grief I can barely keep myself warm. Dragging out of my warm bed this morning was misery, then a shower, and all this cold – BRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

So the cheeps are in the Guest Bathroom, door closed, light on, heating pad under the box; I ground up oats, tortillas, bread, dog kibble, and corn meal for them, they have bird seed, and water.
Keep your fingers crossed, and please don’t let them be roosters!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to the Chicken or the Egg?

  1. Norm says:

    I grew up with free range chickens, very messy animals. They have interesting personalities and are all different but very messy.

  2. Ok, I’m a city girl…I had no idea chickens could lay eggs without a rooster.And Christine’s story pissed me off so bad! Someone killed your rooster…bastards!Is there anything in the world cuter than a baby chick? Baby bunny, maybe.

  3. 1st Mate says:

    They’re precious! Bet they’ll be the most coddled chickens in town.

  4. Tom and Debi says:

    Well it’s 3 days and they are still alive and seem to be doing quite well. Getting bigger and their little craws are full.Glor – if one or both are roosters then there will be rooster stew!Theresa – Tech has not met the chicks, that is a bridge I am not yet ready to cross.Tranquilita – si, dos pollitos. y pienso que un topo tambien.Steve – only if you’ve some great goat cheese recipes to share.Christine – At our first purchased house in Colorado – we built a small coop and kept 3 hens – just enough eggs for us and to share. When we sold the house the buyers stipulated in the contract that the chickens stayed. Fine with us, they were close to the end of their laying and had pretty much become kinetic yard art anyway. Although it was fun to have a hen on the arm of your lawn chair asking to be petted.

  5. Christine says:

    I did just what you did many years ago. It was quite an adventure, leading eventually to a flock of seven and a hand-made chicken coop in the back-yard of a Berekeley, California rental. One day we came home to find the rooster dead with his neck wrung and flung against our front door…A little to loud for the neighborhood apparently. We gave away the flock. Christine

  6. Steve Cotton says:

    Can a young goat be too far behind?

  7. Tranquilita says:

    Now you have <>pollitos<>? Family is growing!

  8. oh, I am so glad that I didn’t go to Chedraui, my oh my. Hey how does the puppy like the chicks? I have this mental image of them snuggling and a chick sitting on her head.regards,Theresa

  9. glorv1 says:

    Well if it’s a rooster and one is a hen, then prepare for more. If they are both rooster’s, then for sure you’ll be up bright and early. Have a great evening. Keep them warm, they tend to get very cold without the big mother hen.

Leave a Reply

