Orchids – Schomburgkia Tibicinis

Friend Mario, an avid Orchid grower, and incredible orchid culture resource here in Merida went Orchid hunting with friends back in December of 2007.

They were hunting in the area near Uaymitun, which is a beach community North and East of Merida. There was, and still is a lot of construction going on so is a perfect place to hunt when you see construction starting as most likely all plantlife will be removed.

Mario, knowing of my growing interest in Orchids graciously and generously brought me several plants from this adventure.
This particular plant has been moved a few times to find a location where it seemed happy and so has finally transitioned, and this year I have my first blossoms. The spike is nearly 5 ft long. There are currently 12 flowers or buds, with more on the way.

This is the orchid on the bark log, you can see the first flower hanging on my clothesline. Keep in mind this flower spike is nearly 5 feet long.

This is a little closer view of the plant.

The first 2 flowers with several buds in view


and a little closer.



This orchid Schomburgkia Tibicinis, is apparently also known as Myrmecophilia Tibicinis, Catteleya Tibicinis, and Epidendrum Tibicinis.

One thing I did find while while trying to provide proper placement of this Orchid is that they like quite a bit more direct sun than I would have thought. I kept wanting it to be in a mostly shady spot, but it really started to respond when it got quite a bit of direct light and sun.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Myrmecophilia Tibicinis, orchids, Orquideas, Schomburgkia Tibicinis. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Orchids – Schomburgkia Tibicinis

  1. bonjour je viens d’avoir aussi cette superbe orchidée sur un terrain au Honduras,, comment puis je faire pour ramener avec chance de reprise un kekis elle est trés odorante , et magnifique vous pourriez voir les photos dans mon facebook

  2. Daniel Perry says:

    Debi: Could you or Mario write me an e-mail. I have a friend who teaches in an agriculture class in Merida and I want to get him some fruits of Schomburkia for his students to learn to flask and grow. I think it would be good for their experiences and maby we can get home-grown orchids for Merida. My e-mail is bosquebear@hotmail.com I’m not sure when the fruits are ripe and Mario might have other species they could propagate.

  3. Jonah says:

    I see a lot of those here in Panama, and I think they're gearing up to bloom, which I'm excited to see. They may turn out be a different species of Schomburgkia.

  4. Tom and Debi says:

    tulalit, here in the Yucatan, where the schumbergkia is native it is exposed to a lot of direct sun. In fact the plant itself looks yellow and sickly but is in reality quite happy and healthy.
    So yes, direct sun interspersed with some shade.
    Debi
    Good Luck!

  5. tulalit says:

    Hi Debi, what a lovely tibicinis!
    I just got one little plant in an orchid show here in Jakarta and want to try to grow it. It's only 15 cm height with 8 bulbs. Do you think I shoould give it direct sun?
    Thank you for sharing.
    Inca

  6. glorv1 says:

    Wow those orchids are superb. I read your other post on your own orchid and somehow missed this one. These are just beautiful, such grace. I’m even more inclined to try to grow orchids. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

