Tropical Fruit – Mangos, and Mango Chutney

Mangos, Beautiful Mangos, Succulent Mangos



st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }


There more than 1,000 different varieties of Mangos grown in tropical and subtropical lowlands throughout the world, Mangoes are grown as yard trees in warm locations along the southern coastal areas in the UsofA, as well as every neighborhood here in Merida.

But really – Who knew there were so many types of Mangos, or that they could be so darn good! Being from the UsofA, and being a good cook, but not an overly adventurous, or inspired cook I was accustomed to the imported Mango from my favorite big box grocery store. And being typically uninspired I never bothered to find out how to select a mango and therefore always selected under-ripe, because they looked better. I have never really appreciated Mangos until setting up housekeeping here in Merida. Sure, while vacationing I frequently ordered the fruit plate in restaurants, and thoroughly enjoyed, without knowing the details, most all the fruit put in front of me.

Now I live in the land of amazing tropical fruit; and sooooo many varieties of each, and am developing a taste for and am experimenting with them with great joy.


Right now Ataulfo Mangos are in season. Wednesday’s are fruit and veggie discount days at the ‘Supers’ (grocery stores). Last week I paid 6 pesos per kilo for beautiful yellow Ataulfos.



Today, I am making mango chutney.

I have cooked often with store bought chutneys, but have not made my own before. It’s really so simple, well except for the peeling and cutting of the mango.

There are special techniques that you learn, check this video on how to cut a mango.





The recipe I am using is a bastardization of several I found on the internet

6 medium size Ripe Ataulfos, chopped

1 ½ c sugar

1 c vinegar

¼ cup minced ginger, use fresh or crystallized

½ c raisins

1 medium sweet onion, chopped

3 med-lg cloves garlic, finely chopped


¼ tsp chili flakes, or ground

¼ tsp salt

So here you see my lovely Ataulfos starting to be peeled and chopped


And here are the peeled mangos, and my gathered ingredients

Everything all ready to cook



Double, double toil and trouble;

Fire burn, and caldron bubble.



YUM, mango chutney.



This batch was a bit too sweet for Tom and me, so I reduced the amount of sugar when writing my recipe above, plus we would like it with a bit more spicy heat so will likely add more chile.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Mango, mango chutney, Tropical Fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tropical Fruit – Mangos, and Mango Chutney

  1. retriever says:

    I love mangos, greeting from Belgium

  2. roni says:

    DebiAs I recall the recipe, it needs more spice that it calls for. I think adding something with a bit of heat will really improve it, and it may need more salt.Is that what “season to taste” means 🙂

  3. Tom and Debi says:

    Billie – the recipe is easy, but taste after the first cup of sugar, then add a bit as desired. It’s too easy to over sweeten deepending on the ripeness and sweetness of the mangos. I had some ataulfos yesterday that were ripe, but tart, would have been better chutney than snack.

  4. Tom and Debi says:

    Chica – Oh my gosh girl, you should taste this chutney over blue cheese, deeelish!Theresa – Ataulfos abound, and tha Paraisos are now showing up, I’ll be at Chedraui tomorrow!This chutney is a bit too sweet – it’s great over blue cheese as indicated above, and would be really good to make a stir-fry sauce. So I need to make some more for chicken and fish and such; can you freeze chutney?Ron, I got the recipe and will be giving that a try REALLY soon!Glorv1 – glad you liked it. Thanks again for the embed push! I’d have let it go otherwise!Jonna – Aye chica, una de las jarritas tiene su nombre.

  5. Billie says:

    I’m inspired. I’ll give the recipe a try. Thanks.

  6. Jonna says:

    mmmmmm, that looks delicious. Do you can it with pressure? or keep it refrigerated?I love the Paraiso mangos, the red and green ones. I bought some this week but I think they were from farther south, not quite as sweet as the locals. I see them on trees all over the city and none of them are ripe yet. I’ll get some of the yellow ones this week, they must riped earlier here.

  7. glorv1 says:

    Way to go Deb. That was a great video on cutting mangoes. Thx for sharing.

  8. roni says:

    I just sent you the recipe for garlic mango sauce. I remember putting additional salt in it. Feel free to share it!!I’ll have to make it again someday. I used to make it as a sauce for grilled chicken.

  9. I finally ran out of the mango chutney that I made. I used green mangoes which makes it more tart. Is it mango season already? I need more chutney. regards,Theresa

  10. ChicaFeliz says:

    Wow, my mouth is watering just from this chutney blog! Sounds fabulous!

  11. Tom and Debi says:

    Well Glorv1 as you can see your instruction was spot on. The video is now in place.Steve, you can bet I’ll be making that soup soon! ThanksRon, Mango Garlic Sauce, sounds like a blog may be coming.Thanks allDebi

  12. roni says:

    Sounds wonderful!! We had a huge mango tree in our backyard in Sã Paulo, Brasil when I was a kid. We ate all we could and gave a bunch away and still had some to throw away.There is a mango-garlic sauce I used to make and put over chicken – I may need to look up that recipe again.Thanks Debi!!

  13. Steve says:

    Debi — I have a cold mango soup that you might enjoy. It is posted on my page, if you are interested: http://steveinmexico.blogspot.com/2008/02/once-and-future-soup.htmlLet me know if you enjoy it.

  14. glorv1 says:

    Oh that looks delish. I like to make apricot chutney, plum jam, peach habanero jam, anything and everything we have growing in our garden I attempt to use up or make jams, jellies, etc. Copying a video to your post is not too hard.Go to YouTubeFind the video you wantLook to the right of the screenand you’ll see something that says embed, then copy that.Go back to your post page and go to edit html, then paste it on there, switch back to compose.It probably sounds confusing, try it a couple of times and you’ll pick it up. You can even post that video you want on the same post you did to day. Good Luck. Maybe there is someone out there that can give you a better explanation. take care.

Leave a Reply

