Design Theory meets Chaos

Classic Design Theory

Classic design theory promotes unity in terms of the objects present. As such, unity discusses the need to tie the various elements together. Unity is a measure of how the elements of a design seem to fit together – to belong together. A unified work represents first a whole, then the sum of its parts.

Nancy in Mazatlan, from Countdown to Mexico recently posted about her patio redo – her desire to unify the look and design of her patio.

I’m planning a trip to Ticul to do the same thing. I need to create a sense of unity, as if I actually had a plan – as if, indeed! – I’m really bad about seeing one pot I like and buying it, even if it is a completely different style from all the others.

In fact I have one sort of French Renaissance cement pedestal pot with an asparagus fern that just doesn’t fit anywhere so sits in a corner with other things I’ve purchased that just don’t yet seem to have a purpose or are waiting for, well who knows what – Divine inspiration…

See, none of these things seem to have a common or unifying theme or look. But I like each piece independently of the others.

Oh, what’s a girl to do!
Let’s just call it eclectic! Which kind of says I have no plan, I just like it! The trick is how do I bring all these very different elements together and merge them into a cohesive decorating scheme.

Taking a lesson from miss Scarlett “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Design Theory meets Chaos

  1. thanks for the advice. I am studying away. I will also have a new bornm with me so that should be a challenge

  2. roni says:

    Kathy is in charge of decoration, but I have my own style. It would be kind, probably, to call it eclectic.

    I enjoy your blog!!

    Ron

  3. I see a theme in the general shapes and the twisted rope quality of the embellishments. Personally, I see you garden as being very well designed.It’s really beautifully done. I like the pedestals to give height. Then again if you really feel that the pots won’t go in your garden, I will gladly take them off your hands!
    regards,
    Theresa

  4. I’m with you sister! I struggle with the whole design thing too. I am prone to just throwing stuff together and moving it around many times before I give up completely. Then Keith comes bye one day to move stuff around in order to fix something and it looks brilliant!

  5. glorv1 says:

    Oh those are some nice pots. If I had those I would paint one mango, another vivid red, another casa azul blue and I would fill them with herbs of different sorts. Those big pots would be expensive over here. Lucky you. They are nice the way you have them. Take care.

  6. Mic says:

    I like your grouping!! Life gets boring when everything is nearly the same 🙂

  7. Jonna says:

    um, I think the noodle is the unifying agent in that grouping.

Leave a Reply

