Tropical Fruit – Guaya Fruit

Guayas are a relative to the lychee and are also sometimes called Guaya Cubano,and/or Spanish Lime.

The Guaya fruit ripen during the summer and are found locally in small markets. Branches or bags of guayas are also sold by street vendors although rarely do you find guayas in the supermarkets.

The fruits are lime green and about 1 inch (2.5 cm) in diameter containing a single large cream colored roundish seed, which is sometimes roasted like a chestnut. The seed is surrounded by a yellowish/apricot translucent sweet juicy pulp. Juice from the pulp is also used for flavoring drinks.


To eat the guayas you tear the tough skin with a tooth or fingernail; the fleshy seed pops right out and into your mouth where you suck off the thin layer off pulp that surrounds it. The taste, to me, is sweet and fresh. The only drawback is that the juice will permanently stain clothing.

For more info on the growth and cultivation of guayas, or Melicoccus Bijugatus visit this site.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Guaya, Tropical Fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tropical Fruit – Guaya Fruit

  1. Patti says:

    Hi Debi,
    I did try one of these little delights when Claudia were visiting in April/May. I found them to be quite refreshihng. My memory is that Claudia just picked them up from a street vendor.
    jim and I just got back from sailing 10 days in the Bahamas. Hope to see you soon.
    Patti

  2. Linda Dorton says:

    I've tried them, they were pretty good.

    Let me know if you ever make the juice from them. Of course, I am ready to drink just about anything to vary the required Mérida WATER consumption..if you know what I mean.

    Deb, I believe I have ONE pitaya growing! The other two that flowered fell completely off the vine…or should I say cactus…just sharing my excitement.

  3. Tom and Debi says:

    Chrissy – not sure of the geography of guayas, but they are fairly common around here.
    Glorv1 – Thanks
    Jonna – we let ours sit till they were a bit soft and easily squished out when we pierced the skin and squeezed.
    Star – I love mangos too, but have really developed a love for papayas with lime.
    1stMate – hmmm, good question.
    Nancy – they should be slightly soft when squeezed.

    umm umm good!
    Debi

  4. Nancy says:

    Any tips on how to pick the ripe ones?

  5. 1st Mate says:

    They really do look like limes, don't they? I'll keep an eye out for them now. Wonder if they can be found in northern Mexico.

  6. Star says:

    I'm going to have to give them a try . I just love trying new fruits and I'm learning how to pick them for the ripeness I like .
    For me , there is nothing like a juicy mango !

  7. Jonna says:

    I tried one in the mercado the other day and to me it was really sour. Maybe I got one that wasn't ripe. When they were building our house the construction guys ate them all the time, there were always branches and seeds laying around. I'll have to try them again, maybe I'll get a sweet one.

  8. glorv1 says:

    They sound really good and look good as well. Have a great Sunday.

  9. cool, I cannot wait to find some. Do you think they are limited to your area?

Leave a Reply

