The Great Wall of Changus Kuhn

You may recall a year or so ago, July, August, and September of 2008, I posted about the construction of a wall in front of our house.  Well, that wall has been in place just over a year and oh my goodness what a difference it has made!

The house is so much cleaner, cooler, quieter than before, and the little front garden is so cute and makes such a pleasant transition from street to inside.

So this is from when we bought the house –

 
This is during the renovation –

 

And this is after the building of the Great Wall –

We are now able to keep the doors and windows open most all of the time.  The additional air flow has decreased the interior heat by a huge amount – so much so that this year, the hottest, driest year in over 25 years has been cooler than the past 2 years.  All because of the airflow.  Add to that the decrease in street noise, and the decrease in dust and dirt.  What a difference!  Money Well Spent.

Our wall, much like the successes of Ghengis Khan although they may appear astounding, they are explainable by ordinary means.

I’m starting to think of starting another long overdue project,  I must be crazy!  
We want to replace the roof on the bodega out back, increase its overhang to cover the terrace beside the pool, and renovate a bathroom that’s there for use while outside.   I also want to add passsive solar heat for the pool.  The pool temp is already to the point where I don’t like to get in,  it’s a frosty 80degree fahrenheit.  What the heck am I thinking…. another construction project – workers here, banging, chipping, hammering, dust, noise, lack of privacy,  I must be out of my mind.  I think it’s the heat, it’s affecting my head, someone thhrow a bucket of cold water on me!!!!!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Great Wall of Changus Kuhn

  1. Tom and Debi says:

    Billie – Thanks, the airflow has made an INCREDIBLE difference in the house! We be LOVIN IT!

    saludos
    Debi

  2. Billie says:

    The wall looks great. I know the additional air flow helps a lot. Good job.

  3. Dan in NC says:

    Tom & Debi, I HAD planned to visit Merida until I read some posts a little while ago regarding the HEAT (something about it feels like 136.4F?) and decided that melting was not my idea of fun. Next month I'll be kicking back for a while in SMA. The missus & I have decided we like the cool highlands (Morelia, Patz, Gto & QTO) to steaming at the beaches.. Cheers! Dan in NC

  4. Dan in NC says:

    Tom & Debi, I HAD planned to visit Merida until I read some posts a little while ago regarding the HEAT (something about it feels like 136.4F?) and decided that melting was not my idea of fun. Next month I'll be kicking back for a while in SMA. The missus & I have decided we prefer the cooler highlands (Morelia, Patz, Gto & QTO) to steaming at the beaches.. Cheers! Dan in NC

  5. Tom and Debi says:

    Thanks Dan. You know, my peeps are from NC. My grandmmother moved to VA in the 30's and from then on our kernel of the cob is from VA. Before that we were all NC'rs.
    Are you planning a visit to Merida, or Mexico?

  6. Dan in NC says:

    Debbie, forget last message – just enlarged the “after” photo, and realized I was having an optical delusion.. Still looks great though!
    Dan

  7. Dan in NC says:

    The wall looks FAB! But I am slightly confused… In the before photos it appears that there is a big blue building on the LH side of the photo – abutting your place.. In the photo showing the completed wall – it appears to be gone! Was the building torn down? BTW I've been reading your blog for the last few months and REALLY enjoy your writing!
    Regards, Dan in NC

Leave a Reply

