Bugs and Beasties Beware!

It was a Wild week in the sanctuary.

After my mom departed (I started out calling her ‘the momster’ and then thought Oh some might equate that to monster and think I was being mean or negative. And really I was was thinking it in an affectionate way. How odd) Anyway, after she left on Wednesday morning it was back to business as usual.

Gaby, the lovely woman who comes every Wednesday and helps, actually does most of the housekeeping was here. And for some reason we decided to move all the stuff in the pantry, you know fridge, well fridges, yes we have 2, wine cooler, storage bins, etc. Underneath one storage rack in a pile of dust bunnies we found a black scorpion.

No, not this one.

I didn’t think to take a photo, which I really should have cause Tom killed it with his pink flyswatter.

Then next thing you know there goes a mouse and the hunt is on. Tom with pink flyswatter, me with the broom, and Gaby with the dustpan. We even brought the puppy in and she let us know exactly where it was, she is truely ruthless.

Let’s just say – we were victorious and the house is currently free of 1 scorpion and 1 mouse. Oh and the bodega is missing 2 rats. We are ruthless hunters of little creatures. Oh and one large cockroach drowned in the pool.

Bugs and Beasties Beware, we have a pink flyswatter and we are after you!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bugs and Beasties Beware!

  1. TED says:

    Hi Debi,
    this is just a quick note to let you know that the link to your site on our directory needs updating. You site is listed here – http://www.theexpatdirectory.com/community.php?c=166. Its worth updating so that your readers et al can vote for you.

    P.S, glad to know your mom is okay, I had to read it twice 🙂

    We used to call Mum Mumra when she was cross! After Mumra the everliving, a bad guy in an old cartoon Thundercats. Happy Days lol

  2. Hey Debi and Tom,
    Bugs and Beasties oh my!!! Tom with the pink swatter does indeed create a visual. We have enough rodents in Colorado I am not looking forward to seeing them again when I move to Merida.
    See you guys in about 10 days.
    Patti

  3. Star says:

    Centipede in the shower would do me in, Yikes! Here at our place in Chelem we are getting the mice , and they are enough for me .

  4. glorv1 says:

    My sons called me Momkins. As far as bugs, mice, spiders and rats are concerned, I don't want any. I have fear of rats, rice. Spiders I kill as soon as I see them and then apoligize. I sometimes set snails free. Well I most times set them free. I don't like to step on them. Go figure. Have a great Sunday and speaking of pantries, I need to get in mine and tidy it up. Thanks for sharing. Have a great Sunday.

  5. We had a centipede fall onto Husband in the shower this morning. It was about three inches long! No idea where it came from,maybe it was crawling along the shower pipe? I think the animals are taking shelter from the “cold” last month they were hiding from the heat.
    regards,
    Theresa

  6. Jonna says:

    Tom with the pink flyswatter going for a scorpion kind of cracks me up. I'm more of the 'put a glass over them' type. Of course, then you have to get someone to deal with them in the glass.

    My son calls Mimi the Meemster, he means it well though.

  7. Nancy says:

    We dispatched a mouse this morning… could they be doing the “come inside for fall” thing like they used to do NOB? Strange.

  8. Tom and Debi says:

    Ah yes, the pink fly swatter! Pink in the kitchen, yellow in the bedroom and red in the office. I like to refer to it/them as our “Swat Team”! LOL!
    We are fully stocked and ready to swat!
    I, Tom, bought them at the Yucatan State Fair last year at Xmatkuil.
    As a matter of fact the 2009 Fair will start in about two weeks and there will be swatters-a-plenty for your squishing pleasure!

  9. Nancy says:

    “Momster” is good, the “departed” comment did concern me however.
    Tom, Barry would like to know where you got your “pink” flyswatter…he wants one too 😉

Leave a Reply

