A reason to NOT go Green!

On Sunday mornings here in Mérida a number of things are available for diversion; one of which is an Art Walk on Paseo de Montejo. Between say calle 35 and avenida Perez Ponce along the East side of Paseo de Montejo a group of artists set out their work for display and hopefully sale.

Friend Faye and I made our way there yesterday. We stopped to admire several things, one that caught my eye, and I so wish I had thought then to take a photo of it, was a painting of a green hammock with a tumble of four feet entwined and hanging out over the side.

The artist explained that traditionally for a newlywed couple they buy or receive a green hammock large enough to accomodate them both. The green is for fertility, both of the milpa (fields) and the womb.

I love discovering these bits of trivia and lore!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A reason to NOT go Green!

  1. Tom and Debi says:

    Noor, Ithink my blog is a reflection of my experiences here in Merida. You can also check out the other Merida blogs on my blogroll. Since you are in the Art field I think you would find much to keep you interested and occupied here. Unfortunately I can't help with info on kids. And my blogroll does not help there either. You can find lots of other blogs by parents with kids living here in Merida, try this one http://andadream.weebly.com/blog.html

    Good Luck
    Debi

  2. Noor says:

    hello my name is Noor Blazekovic we are from Miami Beah, FL we recently spent 15 days in Merida I just fall in love with it we wish to move there since you are from the estates I wish to know if you could share your personal experience there?
    We got a 4 years old son….
    cordially,
    Noor

  3. Star says:

    Thanks I've learned something new this morning!

  4. Very cool and good to know.!

Leave a Reply

