some days are just like that….

One of the things you hear people, people getting older, talking about is how they can’t remember shit anymore.  I was always so organized and competent when I was my “working” self.  I carried a Planner, a BIG Planner; I wrote down everything, I re-wrote everyday what was needed, and prioritized that list daily, I rarely forgot to do anything. 
A friend, a young friend, an under 30 friend stopped by yesterday and she had notes written on her hand to remind her to do stuff, maybe I should do that?   I’m not sure my hands are big enough?
In fact I forgot all about this blog that I’ve wanted to write about until I finally remembered to download some photos I had promised for a friend, well she reminded me – So it’s not really like I remembered at all…
Anyway, so the other morning I get up, my routine is this –
feed cats, change seed and water in birds, hang birdcages outside, start coffee, turn on computer, take wa stroll through garden with dog, return to house, feed dog, get cup of coffee, check emails and read blogs!
I was doing great till the return to the house part…
OOPS! forgot to put the carafe in the coffee maker——Shit, Damn, Fuck!!!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to some days are just like that….

  1. 性感的我 says:

    成功是一把梯子,雙手插在口袋裡是爬不上去的。 ..................................................

  2. Gloria says:

    Hi Debi. We all have done things like that. I write my 'LIST OF THINGS TO DO' every day, that way I don't forget what I have to do. Except that I misplaced the list and forgot what I had written down. lololol hehehehe…see, we all do stuff. Have a great week.

  3. Allison says:

    Been there, done that! At least, I think I have… 😉

  4. lake stevens is in western, wa. about 45 minutes n.e. of seattle.

    we're having a beautiful day! wish i could be outdoors but am cleaning house instead because i've had a terrible cold for a while now and haven't been able to get much done. i'm going hiking tomorrow though, i am really looking forward to it.

  5. Tom and Debi says:

    GUAU! What a lot of responses to this post, seems we've all been there, done that! Bienvenido al club! Pienso que así es la vida!
    Jennifer, I've actually forgotten to put the water in!
    Chrissy, I may have to look into that type of coffeemaker.
    T in Merida, I do indeed appreciate all this tile.
    Steve, that requires getting dressed and that does show up on my daily routine until much later in the day!
    T in Lake Stevens, first, where is Lake Stevens, second, congrats on your userid, I'm not typically a cusser either, but sometimes literate language just fails to adequately express ones emotional state!
    Mic, eso si ques es!
    Mikey, how'd you do, did you remeber it all!
    Deb and Lin, thanks for the visit!

  6. Deb says:

    What a great post…I can SOOOOO relate!

  7. Merida Mikey says:

    Always remember, there are two things about getting older.

    1. You get a bit forgetful.

    2. SDF! I can't remember!!!!

    (I'm off to make some coffee! Wish me luck!)

  8. Mic says:

    Yep, that resembles me also 🙂

  9. o.k. debi i finally got an account just so i could tell you what a great laugh i got out of your, shit, damn, fuck! not that i'm a big cusser but i recently confessed to my sons who are now 23and 25, that when they were little, if i was really mad at something (not at them) i would say, sdif, sdif, sdif! it was my code for, can you guess? shit, damn it, fuck! reading this post just brought that right back to me.

    by the way, i too have made the mistake of forgetting to put the carafe in place and had coffee everywhere. as someone, said, hasn't that happened to everyone? well, at least a lot of us!

    ah yes, the forgetfulness thing definitely has to do with aging, but i choose aging over the alternative, which one of my friends calls, “pushing daisies.”

    have a great weekend and thanks for the laugh-as they say, laughter is the best medicine.

  10. Steve Cotton says:

    You just gave me another reason to eat out more often.

  11. Oh my,makes you glad you have tile floors and counter tops doesn't it? I tend to forget about stuff on the stove. I used to make fun of my mom because she carried the kitchen timer in her pocket. Now I think it may be a good idea for me too.
    regards,
    Theresa

  12. Hasnt everyone done that? I solved the problem by getting a coffee maker that does not have a pot. It stores it in a bucket (the same one you use to measure the water in), then you just press your cup to the thingy and magic. Coffee.

  13. That looks familiar! Just wait until you dump the coffee in the water reservoir.

Leave a Reply

