I have hives…

   but not the kind from which you can get honey.  And that is really sad, cuz I’d much rather be getting the honey.

On Monday evening we were at a friends house and all was well – but Tuesday morning when I got up my right hand was feeling very odd, I thought it was the arthritis there acting up.  But then my 2 big toes were itchy, as the day progressed other itchiness occurred.   I went to lunch with friends about 2 and the back of my neck at hairline was going crazy.  

When I got home from lunch I was in agony; everyplace where clothing was close and tight was inflamed and itching like crazy, welts started to appear and I could no longer keep from scratching.  I had no clue what was going on and had to resort to internet research to find out –

I started taking Diphenhydramine(antihistimine)  It helped a bit with the itching.  Tuesday evening at bedtime I took 50mg Diphenhydramine and anti-inflammatory and slept pretty good.

Wednesday morning and the rash was still apparent – I did some internet research and discovered that what I do have are hives, but I still don’t know from what.  What we’ve been eating is stuff I made, stuff we’re accustomed to…

I took Diphenhydramine on Wednesday morning but was busy and neglected to follow up through out the day.  I went to friend Joanna’s at 2 and by the time I left at 5:30 I could barely keep my hands off myself!   Yipes!   It’s spreading – hairline, behind left ear, torso, back, arms, hands, thighs, behind knees, shins, feet…. Oh my gosh it’s horrible.   Before bed I took 750mg Diphenhydramine and another anti-inflammatory.

What else can I doooooooo – according to the internet  nothing – I’m doing all I can, just need to wait it out!

So I am slathering myself with Tiger Balm because it’s loaded with camphor, breathing Roman Chamomile through out the night using my diffuser, alternating with lavendar oil inhalations and rubbing it on myself,  oh but nothing is really working.

Today I got up and it’s better,  I’ll try to follow up throughout the day with more Diphenhydramine, and lots of lotion.

But what’s a girl to do??????   Anyone have any suggestions!

So here is what one arm looks like, and this is sort of close to what a lot of me looks like! 
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in medical. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I have hives…

  1. Hi Debi,
    I just answered you on my blog but wanted to leave you a note here too. Couldn't find an email.
    Yes, thank you so much for asking about linking up to my book. Any place you think it's appropriate is fine with me. I'm shy about doing it, hating to toot my own horn.
    Now, in terms of allergic reactions, they are not to be taken lightly. I've seen people lose their lives to allergic reactions. Hives are only one component and sometimes reactions can escalate to anaphylaxis and death before you even know you're having one. Luckily that didn't happen here, but looks like you have a pretty good case of uticaria going on and if it's not better you should see a doc. Common causes, as Steve and Bob have mentioned, are foods and stings or bites from insects, and new personal or laundry products.
    I have been anaphylactic and luckily the guy I was with saved my life by rushing me to an ER as I was unconscious in a matter of minutes. It was a bee sting and I had never been allergic to them before. Very scary. Good luck, hope it's all past now.
    Thanks again, appreciate your help in getting the word out!
    M

  2. Tom and Debi says:

    Thanks All! After reviewing online photos what I have are definitely Hives. Man o Man but I wouldn't want shingles.
    So I'm doing the diphenhydramine regularly today. Redness swelling itching are well under control, but dang I am out, can't focus, no energy or desire, just want to sleep…
    guacala
    Thanks again to all for hints, tips, suggestions!
    Debi

  3. Steve says:

    Debi

    Unfortunately I am somewhat of an expert on hives — I had them every day for over a year (and several trips to the emergency room). They've been gone for about 3 years now and I hope they never return. In my case it took over a year to determine the cause (after seeing all sorts of doctors).

    At any rate, hives are caused by an allergic reaction to something. Usually something you ate. The best thing to do is take 50 mg of diphenhydramine (2 tables of Benadryl) every four hours.

    If your symptoms don't go away after a week or so, see your doctor, you might need a course of prednisone.

    If you have any swelling of the face or tongue or any difficulty breathing, get to a doctor immediately! It can be life threatening.

    If you have to do the prednisone and they still come back, give me a holler and I'll share my experiences and what finally cured me.

  4. I am with Nancy. Oatmeal bath and wine. Or atleast the bath. My youngest daughter has sensitive skin for various reason. Her only relief until the hives are gone is an otmeal bath and using oatmeal soaps. We have purchased both items at farmicias all over the pacific coast of Mexico. I hope you feel better soon.

  5. Bob Mrotek says:

    Thank you for correcting me Judy. I was mixing my apples with my cranberries again. Instead of “hives” I should have said “shingles”
    which are “zoster” in Spanish. In any case Debi I hope that you get some relief real soon.

  6. The drug for Hives is Hydroxyzine (Vistaril or Atarax are brand names). What Bob is talking about is Shingles and is just as evil. Go to the doctor to be sure. Had any Sulfa drugs lately? Then topped it off with beans or shrimp. New hand lotion, bath soap, laundry soap? By the way Hydroxzine will knock you on your butt, so plan to sleep a lot. Also, stay cool, because getting hot will make the hives come back until your body gets the antigens worked out. You have my sympathy and empathy. Judy

  7. Nancy says:

    Have you tried an oatmeal bath and a glass of wine?? 🙂

  8. Calypso says:

    Yikes that does not look good amiga – sorry you have to ride that out.

  9. Bob Mrotek says:

    I have had hives. They are not pleasant to say the least. In Spanish they are called “Uticaria” and the rash they produce is called “salpullido”. Most adults who have has Chicken Pox (Varciela) when they were children get them at some point. The Chicken Pox virus goes dormant and hides in the nerves and at some point springs forth, usually because of some stimulus, along a branch of the nervous system. In my case it was along a scar formed as a result of surgery. There is no cure except for time but there are medicines in the form of pills that will greatly relieve the symptoms. You should see a doctor. They take about six weeks to completely disappear and you will never get them again.

Leave a Reply

