Cooking: Tacos de Chaya con Huevo

People are always asking me about things I make – I love using local foods and experimenting with my cooking.

I recently needed a Take Along dish for an event, and being lazy as I am I didn’t want to have to run to the Super or around the neighborhood looking for inspiration for something to make.  Instead I decided to use what I had on hand:

Since I have a chaya plant I decided on a tray of Tacos de Chaya con Huevo.
(Chaya is a green leaf vegetable quite similar t spinach but with just a bit more body)
I gathered, cleaned, de-stemmed, and chopped about 2 cups of fresh chaya, chopped a medium onion, minced 2 cloves of garlic, shredded 2 carrots, and cut a zucchini into quarters lengthwise and sliced.  All of this was lightly sauteed in a bit of olive oil with only salt and pepper for seasoning.
To this I added 8 whole eggs well beaten
Cooked completely
stirring the whole while
I then added a generous scoop of filling to each warm fresh tortilla
fold the tortillas, spoon over with salsa de tomate  (recipe below), y voila!
My tomato/tomatoe plants were producing more tomatoes than we could eat so I was making lots of fresh tomato salsa. Chopped fresh tomatoes, a few cloves chopped garlic, some chopped onion to your taste, no need to add liquid as the tomatoes have plenty – Cook over a low heat till reduced. This is a pretty standard Salsa de Tomate. I like a little spice in mine so I also put a slice in a small habanero and cook with the tomatoes but remove before using the salsa. If you roast all your veggies before making the salsa then you have a Salsa de Chiltomate which is really the best! Some folks run this through blender before using, but I prefer the chunkiness.

For the Take Along I just rested the tacos against each other and took the salsa on the side, when ready for service I oven heated them, and as they were placed on a plate the salsa was added, they were a bit messy by this point but held their shape for plating, eating was best done with a fork. Next time it may be better presentation as a layered dish cut into pie wedges.
Along with what Tom and I ate before I prepared the Take Along, I bet this made about 25 tacos.
And boy were they good!!!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Cooking, tacos de chaya con huevo. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cooking: Tacos de Chaya con Huevo

  1. Nancy says:

    Thanks Theresa (just now noticed your answer). I have also been told I can find it at Mercado 23 in Cancun while we're on Isla Mujeres, but I don't know if I'll get a chance to go or not. I may contact you later for more info.

  2. You can get cazuelas at Riveras on C64 y C 65, also on C65 on the north side of the street just east of Riveras there is a plastic shop that has cazuelas(not Simon's which is further east, but this one is up a set of stairs).
    I stock up on that stuff at the fair too.
    I love the salsa de chiltomate the best too.
    regards,
    Theresa

  3. Tom and Debi says:

    Nancy – In November is the State Fair / Feria de Yucatan in Xmatkuil, I buy my replacement cazuelas and the barro dishes there each year, however there are several places to buy cazuelas here in town, and I could tell you how to get there but don't have the street numbers – let me check and get a few locations back to you!

  4. Nancy says:

    Debi, where can I buy a cazuela like you have the sauce in? I wanted to pick up a few little ones for queso fundido, salsa, etc., when I was in Merida but couldn't find them. I searched and asked all over the mercado and looked everywhere we went to no avail. I'll get them next trip if I can get some leads.

  5. Tom and Debi says:

    Susan – don't wait, go buy some tomatoes, or open a can and boil them down, ths is to yummy to wait!
    Lida – anytime you two want some, let me know, course you'll have to come here!!
    CyK – Oh I bet you have a market full of goodies!
    Anon – Some do have spines, my plant does not, and no you should not eat chaya raw, and you must be careful when collecting to not get the sap on you, it will cause a nasty rash.
    check this link for more chaya info http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chaya_(plant). And yes, chaya is quite similar to spinach, just a bit more toothy!

    Debi

  6. Anonymous says:

    Some say to boil chaya twice and discard the cooking water and not to consume a lot of foods cooked in the raw leaves. Others say some varieties have nettle-like thorns. There are communities in Quintana Roo and Belice that won't touch chaya at all for fear of cyanide poisoning. Interests me, though I've never even seen any much less tasted it. Does it really taste like spinach?

  7. Good job Debi, they look really yummy. I love using stuff I have around here too, but this time of year (killer desert summer) i have nothing.

  8. Lida says:

    This looks sooo yummy Debi, but again everything you cook is very yummy!!

  9. fresh and tasty….sounds wonderful….how I miss the taste and smell of Mexico! When I have fresh tomatoes later this summer, it will be possible here too….

Leave a Reply

