Cooking: Arugula pesto

Friend Jette, who grows organic veggies recently gifted me with, what I called a ‘shitload’ of arugula, of course she calls is rocket, what with being all British and everything.  You’ll have to ask her for yourselves why it’s called rocket!   Anyway, when I exclaimed that I’d never be able to use that much arugula, she said something to the effect of oh shut up and make pesto and freeze it!   cheeky girl!

So I did make arugula pesto and oh my gosh – it’s so fricking good I am eating it on crackers like a dip!

For my arugula pesto
2 monster handfulls of clean fresh arugula
3 large cloves of peeled garlic
1/2 tsp salt
1 c pecans, you could use walnuts, pine nuts, whatever nuts you fancy…
1/3 c parmesan cheese
olive oil, probably 1/2 – 3/4 cup
I’m not good about actually measuring things!

Lucky me, I have a food processor…

This stuff will be fabulous over pasta!

Now I’ve decided to make arugula chimichurri and spoon it over grilled tofu with julienne carrots for dinner, zowee wowee!

I may need more arugula – JETTE!!!!!!!!Honey, sweetie, cutey girl…..
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in arugula, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cooking: Arugula pesto

  1. jette says:

    Glad you took my advice!! still have a shitload of rocket people if anyone else wants some….plus loads of organic spinach too….although come july if you want my organic goodies your going to have to start paying!

  2. Marc Olson says:

    Debi: You are making me hungry. I have checked your blog a couple of times now, mainly because I noticed your link to mine! I think I will become a regular reader. I love your recipes. Thanks.

  3. Anonymous says:

    We were just talking about arugula last night..hard to impossible to find in the store…the pesto sounds fabulous..also the tofu is on our list to try..had a great dish with tofu when we were NOB last week. Leslie

  4. Calypso says:

    Yum – love the recipe mode you are in 😉

  5. What a coincidence! We, too, were gifted with a “shitload” of arugula from Jette. So, after staring at it for a second, we decided it's time to make pesto. Granted, we're only now able to get to it…but we can't wait to dig in to pasta with freshly-made pesto over it. Thank goodness for friends who deliver great produce!

  6. Tom and Debi says:

    Oh Nancy, grilled tofu is great, especially if you have something really flavorful to put on it. Tofu is pretty plain all on its on!
    I like to saute it with a guajillo infused oil, and top it with a chiffonade of mixed grilled or sauteed veggies!
    Yum!
    Debi

  7. Nancy says:

    Debi…you had me all the way up to the grilled tofu..:-(

Leave a Reply

