4th of July fuegos artificiales, aka fireworks

Today is the 4th of July, and Independence Day for the United States of America and its citizens.

One of the celebratory festivities associated with this Holiday are fireworks!
Well We had our own fireworks here last night!   Check these out!

Happy 4th of July America!!!!
by the way – the flower blossoms are pitaya blossums,
they will become beautiful and tasty pitaya fruit.
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in garden, Pitaya. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 4th of July fuegos artificiales, aka fireworks

  1. Linda Dorton says:

    What fabulous pitaya flowers!!! I had four this year…which is great since I don't even HAVE a pitaya cactus, it comes in over the wall of the vacant property next door. But I was unable to get good pics this time.

    Your pictures are spectacular! And I hope that the fruits are equally as delicious!

  2. Tom and Debi says:

    Wm, Thanks for the sorbet recommendation.
    Jonna, tey do havea scent, although it is not overly pleasant. The don't 'stink', they just don't smell good. We got 1 pitaya 2 years ago, 2 last year, and if all goes well looks like 8-10 this year!
    Debi

  3. Jonna says:

    Beautiful! and then you get fruit too! Do they smell good? I wonder about that. My pitahaya are still too small to bloom, maybe next year.

  4. Love your silent fireworks! And Colon makes that pitahaya sorbet… yum!

  5. Tom and Debi says:

    Nancy, I actually took the photos about 10pm, but was up at 4am making the post, just couldn't sleep.

    Mikey, I too love the pitayas, a vendor at the corner of 72×77 (Centro)had mounds of them on display yesterday afternoon.
    Debi

  6. Merida Mikey says:

    I'm a big fan of the pitya, both it's natural beauty and incredible taste! It makes a wonderful, refreshing drink when prepared properly.

    I grew these when I lived in the country and regretfully, have no room for them in my yard here in the city. Now, I have to buy them, but that's OK. They're worht it!

    Thanks for sharing and Happy 4th of July!

  7. Nancy says:

    OK…I assume you had to get up at 4am to take pics of these amazing flowers?? I much prefer this type of fireworks…much quieter and I LOVE the fruit!! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

