we have a barn owl in our garden

One of my neighbors has 2 large Ramon trees in his yard.  Ramons are very large, very thick limbed, and heavy with leaves and nut/seeds trees.   He yearly has the trees ‘trimmed’; meaning he hires a couple guys with machetes and saws to climb the trees and thin them out.  He does this in early hurricane season; presumably to help prevent breakage in case of extreme wind.

This year the ‘cutters’ took two very large trunks from high up and in the center of the tree.  I believe one of these trunks had housed a barn owl.           Why do I think this – Well, about the time all this cutting was going on (July 22) we suddenly spied a large barn owl in a tall tree in our yard.  The owl looked to be in distress the first day I saw it, but now seems quite content and healthy.

I check on the owl several times a day, it’s always there in the treetop

We’ve been experiencing quite a bit of rain and quite gusty winds.  Yesterday we were having a particularly gusty blow and I went to check on the owl, it was up there, just going with the flow, up – down – left – right… at one point it switched it’s position to be head on to the wind.

This first photo is as taken, no modifications, the others are blow ups of the same photo!

The owl is very attentive when we walk out, it watches us, especially the dog; who is just a bit to big to become a snack.   

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in barn owl. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to we have a barn owl in our garden

  1. Sharee says:

    Wow, Debi! I've been doing vacation Bible school at my church so am just now catching up on blogs. Don't even know where to start with yours – the puppies (wish I was already there and could take a couple!); the travels to a couple of my fave US cities; the yummy-looking Korean food; The artwork (loved one called Promise, I think it was an acryllic); and now this owl! Nothin boring in your life, Girlie! Susun and Les have an apartment and will be in Merida September 1. Burt & I will come in October. Hope to see you soon! BTW, my next door neighbor used to feed his owl raw liver – ugh!

  2. Debi, how cool an owl. I am sure that you and Tom are loving that.

  3. Merida Mikey says:

    It just begs to be said: “What a hoot”!

    I recently had two huge, empahsis on huge, Ramon trees removed from my yard. I had previously had them trimmed and cut back and for free! The agreement was that the guys who cut them back could keep all the cuttings. They actually sell the ramon leaves and branches for cattle feed! There is a small feed store on Calle 64 x 47 y 45that sells Ramon!

  4. suk says:

    It's good luck, protect your all fruits & veges. Lucky girls, we had a 30 yrs old figs tree when we were in Virginia house. We loves our figs so tried save figs making jams eating , drying etc but birds always attacked figs before us so we bought artificial owl hang on the tree from advice but birds knew it. So I am very happy for y & let her stay your home & protect your beautiful home & garden. SB

  5. Tom and Debi says:

    Thanks Bob, as always a treasure trove of info!

    Steve – The reason we went out was the racket the grackles were making, we knew something was out there! It is indeed a magical garden. Although right now its a bit dark and scary, my own personal Fangorn Forest.

  6. Steve Cotton says:

    An owl! You get some of the greatest wildlife in your yard. Do any local birds (like crows) go after it?

  7. Bob Mrotek says:

    The Ramón (rah-MOHN) tree is called the Breadnut tree in English

Leave a Reply

