Blogger Followers

At this weekends Latin American Bloggers Conference a question was asked of the Blogger Discussion Group,  What are the benefits of Followers; both for the follower and for the blog being followed?  Any ideas?

Many of us Follow blogs, and as bloggers we have Followers – When you sign in to your Blog application there is an area where Feeds of those blogs you follow come in and you can read the newest post text there.

What if you don’t write blog, but read blogs, can you still Follow?   HMMMMMM???????

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Blog Followers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogger Followers

  1. kris says:

    hi. I follow many of your blogs, and really wanted to come to the conference…maybe next year. Blogging is still kind of new for me, and though I'd like to start one, I'm starting by reading many of yours. I also learn a lot about the area (both Merida, & Isla). So, yes, now I'm a newbie and a 'follower' and I so appreciate so many blogs out there.
    thanks. hope to come next year…
    -kris

  2. Laurie says:

    I use the reader too more often than any other type of “following.” My problem with “followers” is that it can be misleading as I don't think people tend to delete you even if they never read your blog. My old blog domain had nearly 70 and was continuing to grow even after I changed domains. Now I have about 1/2 of that but more actual hits.

  3. Gloria says:

    What Croft said about of Google Reader, I'm not sure on that. With the new “Stats” that Blogger has, you can see who came to your blog and where they came from. I like the idea of “followers” and I like following blogs that I enjoy, like yours. Have a great week.

  4. Croft says:

    Good point. I follow many Blogs but do it with Google Reader which does not let the Blog owner know I am following. The other disadvantage of reading a Blog through Google Reader is that it does not increase the reader count if you have a counter installed.

    I don't really have a good reason for doing it this way, I just discovered Reader a long time ago and started using it.

Leave a Reply

