azotadores, Megalopyge Opercularis, tree asp, flannel moth, pussy moth

So these are the guys I posted in the previous post asking help in identifying.
Well several of you knew exactly what they are and issued warnings to be careful.  
So careful we were!
  Here are I belive 16 of them; we picked them out of the tree with kitchen tongs.

There are still a few more in the tree.

Eeek , very scary!   This thing was coming at me!

oufff, just look at em! blimey!

Here I rolled some of them over, scary!

Look at those little tufts, they are almost cute aren’t they!


Even though I didn’t really want to, we ended up flushing these guys.  I was just too worried about us or the dogs getting stung; especially since they were falling on to the patio…
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in azotadores, flannel moth, Megalopyge Opercularis, pussy moth, tree asp. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to azotadores, Megalopyge Opercularis, tree asp, flannel moth, pussy moth

  1. Tom and Debi says:

    Jonna – so far no survivors, you're safe to return!
    Mikey – I'm with you, if they put me or mine at risk, down the terlet they go!
    Debbie – they do indeed look petable.
    Anon – flushing seems to work, especially since we consume those oranges.

    Debi

  2. Anonymous says:

    when living in atlanta my garden always had lots of caterpillars, the up side was we also had lots of butterflies. however the “gusanos” can be destructive little critters. there was a green product called “dipel” that would give the cater-sanos a bad stomach ache and they would stop eating. that product has been taken off the market, but has been replaced with “thuricide” one spray and never any caterpillars. its good because you can be selective about only spraying the plants you don't want eaten.

  3. Debbie says:

    Oh good. More scary bugs I've never heard of. Thanks for the warning. Just the sort of things I'd probably want to pet.

  4. Merida Mikey says:

    Megalopyge Opercularis! Holy Guacolmole! I'm glad to learn about these little critters. I've seen them around for years and just always ignored or killed them. Never knew they were “venenosa”! They look like something they would eat on Survivor, or Andrew Zimmer would indulge in and try and convince his audience how wonderful they taste with a bit of salt and a splash of salsa! No thanx – flush the little darlings!

  5. Jonna says:

    You flushed them? OMG! What if they crawl back up out of the fosa septica and… argh! Remind me never to use your bathroom again.

Leave a Reply

