Gads – more technology woes!

I want to go back to the days of two cans with a string – this technology crap is giving me a headache.
So now the big fancy ass just over a year old laptop computer can’t connect to the internet wirelessly. The NIC card is visible in my hardware config, but I get the “wireless network connection 2 adapter” error message.
We don’t really need this laptop to be wireless, it sits here on the desk all the time. And the little one that I use frequently still connects wirelessly so we’re good to go.
EXCEPT – and there really is always the EXCEPT clause isn’t there!
Our VONAGE, you know, voip phone, US number than rings while travelling anywhere in the world!
Well our VONAGE adapter needs to be direct wired (ethernet). We have an adapter for that, it gets the ethernet cable/signal from our cable wireless modem, which has 1, yes 1 ethernet port!
So it is either the computer or the phone plugged in – only one at a time!   
And our computer is on practically ALL THE TIME!
I think I have found a suitable, and fairly inexpensive work around!
I’m going to get a 5 port ethernet switch! Cool hunh!
Well that is AFTER we check with Cablemas, our cable provifder, to see if they offer a 2 port modem.  However, if they don’t with the switch,  Just plug the ethernet from the modem into the switch, then up to 5 ethernets out to their various needs, in my case phone and computer.
 And here I thought today was going to be my veg out and do nothing day!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in electronics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gads – more technology woes!

  1. Tom and Debi says:

    Steve – exactly, who woulda?
    Deborah in TN – I do use a lot of homemade things, especially utilizing esssential oils, they work on me AND on the dogs! I use a combo of citronella, eucalyptus, and lavendar, sometimes cedar too.
    check out Cactus Juice, it works really well too! http://www.cactusjuicetm.com/
    There aer also some Neem products here that aer good.
    On ants I spray vinegar water solution. stops them and disrupts their path scent.

    Debi

  2. Anonymous says:

    Since I am now “following” your blog (sounds kind of sleezy), please don't go to the tin-can technology. I got rid of mine during the last downsize!

    I am a new Merida wanna-be, and hopefully my husband and I will be permanently in Merida by the end of next year.

    I have a question that is off subject of this post, but relates more to other posts regarding bugs and mosquitoes. I know that you are familiar with using essential oils, and I wonder if you have tried straight citronella essential oil as a bug spray, and if so, if it works. I use it with success when camping here in the humid sunny South of NOB. Just curious. I love alternatives to chemicals. I have even used a citronella/soap combo on ants that works. May be a crazy question to ask, but has been a concern of mine.

    I love your stories and sense of humor. Please keep them coming!….Deborah (and Phil) Chattanooga, TN

  3. Steve Cotton says:

    Who would have thought a few years ago that we would be so reliant on computers? My internet is slow. And here I am thinking that civilization is coming to an end. Maybe we should just go back to writing letters — and waiting three weeks for a response. I doubt it will hapopen.

Leave a Reply

