so what’s the difference between a flauta and a burrito – the tightness of the wrap!

So this morning I am just awake, laying in my hammock rolled up like a flauta in my comforter and enjoying the warm snuggliness of it when the doorbell rings.  
Now we routinely have schoolkids ring the doorbell as the walk by, but that’s always the 10-15 year olds that pass by at lunchtime.  At 7am its the young kids being    walked to school so this was quite unusual.

There it goes again; ok it’s someone that really wants to speak to us.  

So I get my legs over the edge of the hammock and stand up – it’s all I can do to keep from falling over I am so tightly wound in my comforter. I start sort of hopping as I am trying to disentangle, Tom, seeing this,  gets up and slips on a pair of pants and answers the door; we have one of those little doors that you can open to reveal just a face.  By then I am loose but not yet free, a few more Houdini like moves and I am out just as Tom walks past on his way back to bed and says “…its for you!”

I go to the door – it’s the newspaper delivery guy.   I get the Diario de Yucatan delivered to  my house Thursday through Monday.  The only days I don’t get it are Tuesday and Wednesday.

The delivery guy explains to me about my delivery dates and then says its Wednesday well, miercoles!  I shouldn’t be getting a paper.

So what happened was he had accidently slipped the paper under my door on the wrong day and wanted it back!

Tonight I’m a burrito…….just in case!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in diario de yucatan, Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to so what’s the difference between a flauta and a burrito – the tightness of the wrap!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Anonymous Deborah/Chattanooga, TN:
    Many years ago, on Isla Mujeres, after several shots of tequila, I was lying back in a hammock, feeling the ocean breeze, the sun, and life at it's best. I heard my fiance (now my hubby) saying “no way you can be that old, just look at that face”. I glanced over to see his hands cupped around the face of a Senorita bartender (he, too, had had several shots of tequila). I immediately tried to get out of the hammock, but all I could do was flail like a fish. I could not get up! After several attempts, I called to my fiance to give me a hand. As soon as I got to my feet, I pinched a nice plug from his behind. We still laugh about it! One hammock experience I will never forget. I hope to have many more!

  2. Tom and Debi says:

    Ah Steve – you see you presume Tom wears drawers to sleep!
    Although some of our neighbors are a bit familiar of Tom in his nothingness, usually not so much the people that come to the door!
    Debi

  3. Steve Cotton says:

    Tom puts on pants to answer the door? What's with that? I answer my gate in whatever state of undress I am in. I figure the person on the other side has no right to be surprised. They are he intruders. By now, my neighbors are accustomed to the sight of Steve's drawers. There may be a blog embedded in all of that.

  4. Tom and Debi says:

    Calypso – actually I got a good laugh out of it – unfortunately Tom had still been asleep and was not quite so humored.
    Eric – All my old papers go to the animal shelters. They provide bedding for the cold puppies.
    Jonna – Tom, having once been a newspaper delivery supervisor kept going on and on about how you always give your carriers a few extra papers to promote goodwill and a potential new client – just where does he think we are?????
    Hammocks are safe, it's this damn cold that makes me wrap up like a flauta that is dangerous.
    oh for summer to return!
    Debi

  5. Jonna says:

    Who knew they counted them so carefully. i love your description of getting out of the hammock. Careful, it sounds dangerous.

  6. 2ericc says:

    Glad to know that Merida believes in recycling newsprint!

    ~eric.

  7. Calypso says:

    You probably did not think so – but pretty funny actually 😉

    7 pesos (what our Diario costs) is quite a bit for a guy selling newspapers one might imagine.

    Go back to sleep!

Leave a Reply

