Tis the season

Tis the season….Citrus Season that is!
The citrus is in!  Oranges, both sweet and sour, mandarinas, grapefruit….
Oh it’s fabulous – on many street corners you can buy liters of freshly squeezed, squouzed, squozen juice.
You can buy bags of peeled mandarinas sprinkled with chili and lime, bags of peeled sweet oranges and grapefruits, oh be still my salivating taste buds.
Oh and the x’ec; a salad of cut grapefruit, manadrina, jicama with a bit of salt, chili, and lime!
Simply delicious!
I happen to have a large sour orange tree right outside my back yard, as well as several other varities of citrus available to me thanks to neighbors trees that overhang my property; my view is If it’s on my side, it’s Mine!
So I get China Limas and Limones Indios thanks to my neighbors, and I have a small tree that gives me both Persa Limones and Limones Amarillos!

We use our sour oranges for all sorts of yummy things; mostly drink things.  You know naranjada, margaritas….

Something is cutting into our supply!

So what the heck is it that is doing this?

It’s a fricking Fruit Rat, aka Citrus Rat, aka Roof Rat, aka Scurrilous Vermin soon to Die Rat!

They open a hole in the orange and then eat all the flesh and seeds inside, all that litter on the patio are the husks of the orange seeds!

Roof rats/Citrus rats/Fruit rats are actually quite common. Well if you bother yourself to keep up on rat-i-culture!  They grow to about 9 inches in length and weigh about 8 ounces. They are nocturnal and very shy. They are vegetarian but will apparently eat nearly anything for survival, and they are excellent climbers.
They average 6 litters per year with an average of 6 surviving pups per litter. . .WHAAAAA

Call me the rodentinator! Get me some rodenticide!
Tis the Season!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tis the season

  1. Linda Dorton says:

    Don't you have cats that can rid you of these annoying rodents!¡?

    Absolutely love citrus season. The Mexican tradition of having fresh OJ available everywhere is a treat.

  2. I like how people glob onto the rat portion of your post and not the orange-y citrical part! 🙂 I hate the little buggers, but we don't have them in our backyard; just the zorros which are really not the romantic, dashing animals their assumed name implies. Just large rats aka possums. And we have a tangerine tree that someone gave us and has furnished us with fine fruit if we can get at it before the xkaues do. Saludos!

  3. pattiinmerida says:

    Okay..these are the ecky varments that you told me would likely bless my house. Oh goody. I can hardly wait.

  4. Merida Mikey says:

    Debi –

    To hell with PETA! Kill the rat bas%&$#! I abhore rodents. Kill it and any others you can get your murderous hands on!

    Go Debi, go!!!

  5. Tom and Debi says:

    Steve – Come on over – that damn thing was in the tree again last night. It was a sight-Tom with his pole trying to knock it down and Techie the wonder dog jumping and quivering and being very soft voice vocal waiting to pounce.

    Corista – The demon spawn rat is still at large, but we have plans, hideous, murderous plans. Gads I hope PETA doesn't read this!

    Debi

  6. La Corista says:

    I love your tirades against vermin and other pests.

    I quote,”It's a fricking Fruit Rat, aka Citrus Rat, aka Roof Rat, aka Scurrilous Vermin soon to Die Rat!”

    A girl after my own heart. You make me laugh.

  7. Steve Cotton says:

    A citrus rat. Now, that is something I would like to see. You know me and my creatures.

Leave a Reply

