Fruit – Maracuya

On a recent trip to a small village just North of Chichen Itza I noticed several young boys sitting at their house scraping the innerds out of several bright yellow fruit
The pulp they were excising was also a greenish yellow color, quite glossy, and with pronounced black round seeds. 
I so wish I had taken a photo of the boys.
I asked the boys about they fruit they were working with and was told it was Maracuya.  They also explained it was quite agria  (sour). 
They offered me one, which I gladly accepted.
After I got home with my new find I started researching.  Apparently the Maracuya is the fruit of the Passion Flower vine!   I love the passion flower, what a gorgeous flower!
Not knowing exactly what to do I scraped the pulp into my blender, added about a litre of water, several tablespoons of sugar, and processed until the seeds were quite fine.  I tasted, adjusted sugar to my taste and then offered a glass for myself, my housekeeper, and husband. 
The skin of the fruit is quite tough and very rigid, but the scraping of the innerds was quite easy. 
We all pronounced it DEE-LISH!.  Now if I could just find more!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in maracuya, passaflora, passion flower, Tropical Fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fruit – Maracuya

  1. Anonymous says:

    wow i never knew this! i just got the fruit and didn't know what it is and what to do with it.now i am just making a smoothie 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Im from Merida and I have been looking for this delicious fruit I tasted once in the past…

    Do you remember the name of the place where u found the boys?..This fruit is incredible and its hard to find in the city…
    thanks

  3. Anonymous says:

    Imagine that: Passion fruit is sour! But the flower sure has piz-zzazz.

    ~eric.

  4. Jonna says:

    With any luck, I'll have some soon to share. I planted a maracuya vine on my roof, gave it a line to run on and it is moving quickly.

Leave a Reply

