Bug – Anisoscelis Affinis, aka Affinis Leaf-footed Bug, Red Big-footed Bug

Check out what we had along the side of our pool this morning!
It apparently is a youngun, as it has not yet developed wings.  Therefore there must be some breeders nearby.  It’s main food source is Passiflora, Passionfruit vine.  And since I don’t have a Passiflora, well…..
anyway, it is seriously cool looking!

In the USofA this bug is only found in Cameron County Texas, but is widely found in Mexico, also in Nicaragua, Honduras, and Guatemala.
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Affinis Leaf-footed Bug, Anisoscelis Affinis, Red Big-footed Bug. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bug – Anisoscelis Affinis, aka Affinis Leaf-footed Bug, Red Big-footed Bug

  1. Anonymous says:

    I suppose bug viewers go through stages. I'm at the stage of admiring the beauty of the Affinis Leaf-footed bug. At dusk one evening I was transfixed with the beauty and movements of this bug.
    The feet seemed to be pulsating and reminded me of sails in the sunset. I suppose as I begin to see damage being done to my maracuya I'll be less poetic. Tom Jones, Valladolid, Yucatan

  2. Steve Cotton says:

    I want one. But it would probably join up with the leaf cutters to do in my garden.

  3. Anonymous says:

    wow! i've never seen anything like that! pretty interesting looking! how big is it?

    have a great weekend!

    teresa in lake stevens

  4. Jonna says:

    That is a cool bug. Still, don't send it this way. It seems that everything eats passiflora, I remember fighting the butterflies for the ones I had NOB. I want my maracuya fruit, I don't want cool bugs. I'll watch for leaf looking things on it though, then death by chancla.

Leave a Reply

