you shouldn’t be reading this

Today (4 March 2011) is Digital Detox Day, well according to an article I was reading, Online, on my Online subscription to UTNE Reader. 

This National Day of Unplugging (NDU) is the effort by a group called Reboot to restablish, with a modern twist, Jewish traditions of Shabbat, or Day of Rest.  It has been modernized in another way to include all peoples. 

I applaud the tenents of this relatively new movement; This is their second year. 

The 25-hour period is guided by Reboot’s Sabbath Manifesto,
which encourages a weekly “time-out” following ten principles:
1) Avoid technology;
2) Connect with loved ones;
3) Nurture your health;
4) Get outside;
5) Avoid commerce;
6) Light candles;
7) Drink wine;
8) Eat bread;
9) Find silence;
and
10) Give back.

One humorous observation I make is all the ways you can be reminded to unplug that come to you through your digital technology devices.  They offer text messages to your cellphone, tweets,  facebook reminders….

Ah well I really do like the premise – the whole idea of connecting with people, getting back to basics, oufff, but avoiding technology,  um, errr, I don’t think so….

Today is Digital Detox Day – you shouldn’t be reading this – go outside, play with the dog, the kid, have lunch in the park with a friend, take a long walk and enjoy the day.

Or, like me, sit in front of your computer answering emails reading all your favorite blogs!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in digital detox day, national day of unplugging, reboot. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to you shouldn’t be reading this

  1. suk says:

    I want to but I had to work so no detox but I will do it. We need it, time out, bonding day. Lol

  2. Steve Cotton says:

    Avoiding technology will be difficult. I am in the air.

  3. Anonymous says:

    the only time i avoid technology is when i'm on vacation. even then i'll sometimes look for an internet cafe though. wish i could be outdoors having a picnic or hiking, but it's mar. in wa. state and i've been sick for 2 days, so back to bed and my book i go.

    teresa in lake stevens

    p.s. i do hike year round though-the weather can't stop me from that as i love the outdoors.

  4. Here, here!!

    john

Leave a Reply

