She’s off!

I head out tomorrow for a week in Tulum.

Friend Suk is visiting and is MORE than eager to go to Tulum. Tulum is her decompression place, where she goes to forget about work and all her stress. It also just happens to be her absolute favorite beach in Mexico.
She asked me to go with her, and what, am I crazy, NO! I said Yes! Duh!

I’ve been to Tulum a few times, way back when the ruins were accesible; back in the olden days. I’ve never been to a beach at Tulum. A few years ago I was on a bus excursion that visited QUITE a few ruins in Yucatan, Quintana Roo, and Campeche. We stopped at Tulum. The ruins are still awesome, even if you can only see them from varying distances. I was agast, shocked, distressed, and upset to have seen people walking around this incredible site in bikinis, speedos, and varying styles of beach wear.

Tulum is the first, and to this date the only ancient site where I have experienced a moment of communion with the ancients. It was WAY back when you could climb, enter, touch and experience the ruins free and unmolested. There is a small Temple with a rock seat in it – you can see the small Temple in the right foreground of this photo I snatched from locogringo

I was able to go into that small Temple and sit on that seat – it was a magic moment, I still get gooseflesh thinking about it.

Here is a picture I took when we were last there, 2008 – you can just see the little seat. Oh, and you can see the rope barrier preventing you from getting anywhere near the Temple.


A little respect people – swimsuits are for the beach, the pool, and the tanning room.

More on my trip later!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Tulum -. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to She’s off!

  1. Barb says:

    Debi, I know exactly what you mean about communion with the ancients. Señor B and I went to Tulum a few years ago and, as soon as we entered through the gateway in the stone wall, I could feel the presence of those who dwelled there so long ago.

  2. Tom says:

    The fort is secure so relax and have a great time!

  3. suk says:

    I came here celebrated my 50' bday gift from my hubby. We usually stayed in paraiso beach area tulum. My friend rented house water front tulum last year paid $3,500 per week. My mother & I stayed with her last year same time bc I told her if I die my ashes will be there. My hubby & I came every yr when i come to merida, must to go tulum bc of me. Also we used had a condo in tulum so we had excuse to check on our properity but we sold it 2 yrs ago. I know walter had enough all inclusive place so I asked debi, here we are again paradise. So beautiful & I need this breaks really. I love Mexico, such a beautiful country. Lucky me!!!! Tx Wally, Tx debi, Tx Tom , love suk

  4. Ron says:

    We love Xpu Ha, it may be our favorite beach on that side. La Playa beach club had good music one afternoon while we were there.

    Ziggy's beach club at Cabanas Tulum on the Tulum beach road is also very nice.

    Have a great time!!

Leave a Reply

