I need help to identify a Palm tree!

OKAY Gardening buddies – I need some help. 
The palm pictured below was gifted to me a bit over a year ago, maybe 2, I can’t remember anything anymore.
The Gifters don’t know what type of palm it is, and I am not having much luck with identifying it by myself.
It had been planted in a container and was a bit stunted when it came, although in good condition.  Since it has been in the ground now for a while it has grown so quickly that it absolutely amazes me. When  it was first planted it wasn’t even as high as the roof line, now it is towering through the opening.
It looks so like a Royal Palm in the frond structure, but that bulb base is throwing me. 
It doesn’t really look  like a Bottle Palm, it is too smooth for a Cuban Palm…
Can anyone help?
palm base

pinnate palm structure 
branch detail
UGH, pictures taken with ipad????
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in palm trees. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I need help to identify a Palm tree!

  1. Jonna says:

    If you have room for one, let me know and I'll save one of the hundreds of sprouts and put it in a pot for you. They grow really fast.

  2. Sure looks Royal to me. I have craved having one since I first saw one in a Centro garden.

  3. I keep telling people it is a royal and I keep being told it isn't.

    dag nab it!

  4. Jonna says:

    I think it is a Royal Palm, they do have a bulging base. Take a look at this picture http://www.palmantics.com/palm_pics/royal.jpg
    and also the description of the trunk here
    http://www.palmantics.com/palms/description_roystonea_regia/

    It maybe that the trunk is not the normal gray because it isn't getting as much sun? Also perhaps it is because it is still very small. I will try and get on the roof and take a picture of the base of the huge one next door.

    I can tell you that they are incredibly fertile, I am constantly picking small palm seedlings out of my garden from the neighbors tree. The trunk from one of those would eat my whole yard.

Leave a Reply

