Manguera – what this word really means!

OK, so I have these 2 dogs, one of whom is still a puppy, doing all the standard puppy stuff….Which has included chewing the end off the hose so many times that the hose no longer reaches the netherlands of the back yard!

The bamboo out back has been especially hard hit by the lack of watering – so to rectify that situation, and until I design and have installed a sprinkler/watering system we bought one of those huge clear plastic pvc tube hoses that “everyone” (kind of like saying “they”) says is the best

I can only think that the people that recommend them do not do their own watering.  

OMG, that thing is killing me, it’s like wrestling a 30 ft python, or at least what I imagine wrestling a 30 ft python would be like

It is heavy and unwieldy (is that a word?) and I end up soaked head to toe.  But man o man does it put out the water!

Here in Merida they call a hose a manguera, I don’t know what they call it in the rest of Mexico. 

OK, so let’s look at this word – Man Guera – Man, self explanatory (well in English it is),  and Guera which means war or fight in Spanish…
So what this means is that a MAN is supposed to be FIGHTING with this hose, Not Me!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Manguera – what this word really means!

  1. Allison says:

    When you started out with the puppy chewing on the hose, I was expecting something about the word 'to eat' in either French (manger) or Italian (mangere).

  2. @Steve – how right you are! Gracias

    @Jonna – Yeah, Yeah, Yeah, he didn't I did, blah, blah, blah.

    @Norm – We have a faucet/spigot out in the garden, but still have to move around the garden with the hose. So need to get this watering system designed and installed.

    @John y Alan – I'm not sure I could do a drip system garden wide – especially with the pump in the well – I fear it would burn the pump up, or blow out the soaker hose.

    @Theresa – yes, cute word play!

    @Rainie – But I so enjoy the time standing around the garden, well used to !

    Hoping to resolve this soon, as it is watering day AGAIN!

    Gracias a todos
    Debi

  3. Rainie says:

    I love your idea about the Man Guera. It surely is a battle for the masculine gender. But, what abour a Soaker Hose. Sounds like a more feminine approach.
    Rainie

  4. ¿Que hace la maguera en la calle?
    this is one of my favorites..

    ¡Vende mangos!

    regards,
    Theresa

  5. Well, this is one man that will try to avoid the Manguera. I don't think I'm up to wrestling with a hose either.

    P.S. If you do an irrigation system, go with the “drip” kind. We have sprinkler type and the heads are always clogging up with minerals or they get bumped and the spray direction is changed and ends up watering the concrete walkway instead, or a large plant grows in front of the head and blocks it. Arrrgggghhhhh.

  6. norm says:

    I have a hydrant for my garden, a one inch line buried in the ground out to a hose connection. The garden is about 400 feet behind the house so a hose was a chore that no longer is.

  7. Jonna says:

    I'm laughing here, remembering that you wanted one of these and Tom didn't. They are too stiff I think, but they do put out a lot of water.

  8. Steve Cotton says:

    Your word play seems a lot more fun than your hose play. Good twist.

Leave a Reply

