Driving in Merida

Heather In Paradise posted a blog about her perceptions of things, the object of this perception for her was/is the sandwichon, read about it here


I was having this internal dialogue with myself just the other day.  Being from and having worked many years in Colorado I was accustomed to doing things considerably differently than I do the same things here.  For instance, and what got me thinking about this is/was driving.   


In and around Colorado many of the highways have speeds of up to 100mph.  In town speeds range from 25 to gosh, about 50 I guess.  I can’t really remember.  But when we went somewhere we went fast! Period!


So the other day I was going somewhere here in town (Merida), and I started feeling like I was going really fast and I was wondering what/is my big hurry!  I looked down and I was doing 27mph. 27mph and I was telling myself to slow down.


Funny how things change!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in driving in merida, Everyday Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Driving in Merida

  1. When we are on the highway cars are zooming past us, we go about 55/60mph and feel like we are blazing fast!

    Funny!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Everything is relative, Sis. ¡Tranquilo! We don't need to live at 100MPH anymore.

    ~eric.

  3. Leslie Limon says:

    My hubby and I were just talking about this the other day. We were driving back from a shopping trip at Bodega Aurrera in a larger pueblito about 30 minutes away. I felt like we were speeding way too fast down the highway and told Hubby to slow down. We both looked at the speedometer and he was only going 40 mph. When we lived in California, we usually drove between 55 and 65 mph on the freeway and we thought that was slow! Oh how things have changed now that we live in a pueblito where most cars travel at about 25 mph. 😛

Leave a Reply

