recipe – calabaza frita

I have a stand by dish that is almost always found in my fridge.  This is such a fabulous and versatile dish that I can’t not have it around -AND it’s REALLY good!

Calabaza Frita – 

I use the green local scalloped edge squash, we (my Family) always called them patty pan squash, Tom’s family called them elephant toes, I imagine your family had some other name for them – The green ones are used locally with great frequency, and in lots of dishes.   I love the texture and the slight sweetness of the squash, plus they hold up and don’t turn to mush.

I use an equal amount of tomato and patty pan squash,  half the amount of onion, and at least one if not more cloves of garlic.  For the squash I tend to scoop out the seeds and pith from the centers and remove the tip n tail. Then just chop all the ingredients to similar size and start cooking over a low heat. I also add salt and pepper to taste as well as either habanero or jalapeno to taste. If I have cilantro I’ll throw that in too.  I let this all simmer till cooked down and well mixed.

This is FABULOUS as a taco/burrito filling, I’ve stuffed zucchini with it, I’ve added rice to it and served as a casserole so it’s good as a dinner dish, great mixed with pasta, run it through the blender or food processor for a chip dip, or if you just give it a good chop it’s a lovely chunky dip.   I tell you the possibilities for this dish are endless.  Shoot, warm some stock, shred a bit of chicken and toss in a scoop of this and you have a fabulous soup, just top with a bit of fresh cilantro and some sour orange, or lime juice,  YUM!!!!
You also frequently find this served as a botana in bars, cocktelerias, and some restaurants.

This photo is of what is currently in my fridge.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in calabaza frita, recipe, vegetarian recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to recipe – calabaza frita

  1. I have a really great baked squash casserole, you need to start paying attention to these little gems. They are fabulous!

  2. Let me knw what you tink after you've tried it. I'm always curious

  3. Calypso says:

    Yum – looks and sounds very good. We will try your recipe. Thank you.

  4. Lee says:

    Looks like a perfect meal! The colors alone make my mouth water. Squash is one of those ingredients that I always overlook when I'm at the market.

Leave a Reply

