making caimito jam, err, jelly

I was gifted a bag FULL of beautiful, fresh, ripe caimitos.  I love caimitos, I’ve blogged about them before.  
I gave a small bag full to my neighbors and ate my fill the first day.

   
I had way to many to be able to eat, and was trying to think of something yummy to do with them; as good as they are there must be something more than just eating them fresh.    The internet doesn’t come up with much;  But I did find a recipe for jam, equating caimitos to plums.   
Sounded good – Caimito Jam.
First thing was to wash, halve, scoop out the seeds, and then scoop the pulp into a pan.

then quite a bit of cooking, adding sugar, and squishing ensued.

 Caimitos have a resin that sort of dries out your mouth, and is a bit bitter.  To me the ‘jam’ was a no go – the pulp is too grainy and tough.  And the resin is way to powerful.

When I eat these I cut them in quarters, scoop out the seeds and just suck out the pulp.  I get very little, very little of the bitterness of the resin.
So I decided to squish out the juice and make a ‘jelly’.   
This is the dry pulp.
Well to me it is still no good, but Tom is willing to give it a try.   Blech!
This is the jelly, twice sieved, but needs another sieving to get rid of some of the grittiness!

so caimitos, enjoy them fresh!
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Caimito, Cooking, making jam or jelly. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to making caimito jam, err, jelly

  1. Marianne says:

    Yikes, that's a lot of work. If you haven't already donated it to the compost heap, perhaps you could spice it up with some diced, cooked apples and cinnamon – kind of like a tropical apple butter.

  2. Calypso says:

    Looks like a lot of work – but yummmm!

  3. yes fruit trees can be bothersome – but oh all that lovely fruit! still I love my sour orange and my limon trees, my neighbor started an avocado next to the fence line so I am looking forward to some avocados soon. It needs to be tree that produces something you can make use of!

  4. Lee says:

    We agonized over whether to keep our tall caimito tree. It offers plenty of shade, but most of the fruit overhangs our neighbor, and collecting droppings is a daily chore for them. So goodbye to the caimito tree. Something with less maintenance will go there in its place.

Leave a Reply

