dental work redux

About 2 years ago I reported on a dental experience, a root canal, I subsequently reported on how bad the experience was for me.  I was left with a root canal that wasn’t properly done, and a ground down nub of a molar that needed a crown/cap. I don’t know the difference between a crown and a cap!

Over the past 2 years I’ve tried on a few occasions to get the tooth repaired and the process completed – to disastrous results.

Well, I am happy to report that the problem has been resolved.

I was contemplating having the tooth removed, but didn’t.  I attempted resolution through two separate references, neither worked out.   Finally, I decided to call a dentist I know, and to whom several friends go and highly recommend.

So last Thursday, just a week ago today, good grief how time flies!  I had the cap/crown put in/on???  A week prior to that I had gone in, had the work done to correct the bad procedure, had the impressions done, and left in a bit of a daze.

I am one of those people that has trouble with going to the dentist – I am WAY better than I used to be.    Anyway, short story, when the dentist got to me, I was in quite a state, pacing, hyperventilating, having chest pains,   blech.   He was just at 30 minutes late, which gave me plenty of time to get myself worked up.   He decide I needed ‘something’.  He put 3 drops of something, he told me what but I don’t now remember, in water and told me to drink it – I started to sip it!  He said No, like tequila, to which I replied “this is how I drink tequila”.  Anyway, the stuff did seem to help, but mostly after the fact.

OK, so last Thursday I got the cap/crown; now my mouth was quite accustomed to that void and this new crown/cap felt quite odd and out of place.   Because we were leaving the next morning and heading over to Cozumel and Playa del Carmen for the weekend Jonna gave me a dental reference in PDC, for just in case!    I didn’t need it,  But was really glad to have it!  Gracias Chica!

I’m happy to report that the cap/crown has settled in, my mouth and tongue have adjusted and all is right with the world!   Gracias Javier!

Dr. Javier Camara-Patron
Quality Dental Altabrisa
Calle 26 #212 x 7 y 15, Altabrisa
Merida, Yucatan, Mexico.
Telephone:52 (999) 167-9444

Dr. Javier Camara-Patron           This is the office I went to!
Cirujanos Dentistas Asociados
Calle 17 No. 170 x 8 y 10, Garcia Generes
Merida, Yucatan, Mexico
Telephone: 52 (999) 925-3399

Dr. Javier Camara-Patron
Quality Dental Francisco de Montejo
 Calle 50 No. 313 local 7 x 51 y 53B, Francisco de Montejo
Merida, Yucatan, Mexico
Telephone: 52 (999) 946-6444

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in dental work. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to dental work redux

  1. EJ Albright says:

    Glad your procedure went well. I'm a big fan of Dr. Camara. Not only is he affordable and does good work, but he has some of the most beautiful women in all of Yucatan on his staff! When you get to be my age, apparently the only way I can get a lovely señorita to pay me any attention is to have her working on my teeth.

  2. Marianne says:

    Cap and crown are two words for the same thing – in your case an “anatomically correct” tooth replacement that should last for years. Enjoy…

  3. Boy oh boy, unless you have good insurance I'd wait and get the work done here. WAY cheaper, and they still give you happy juice here.

  4. I've been in that office, it is indeed lovely. So glad your experiences there have been good!

  5. Debbie says:

    Glad it worked out this time Debi. I was thinking of you, and your earlier tales of dental misadventure, this past week as I explored the dental tourism situation in Puerto Vallarta for a radio story.

  6. Barb says:

    I had a good experience with Javier, too. I had a night guard made last year and it all worked out well. I'm also what I call a “high maintenance” patient so it's reasurring to hear that a more involved procedure went smoothly.

  7. CQ had a crown done by them last December at the Altabrisa location. It worked out well and he remembers them taking his American Express Card…..We are making appointments for December for teeth cleaning (about 25.00 US) and I need a bridge replaced.

  8. Alinde says:

    I'd like to add that I had a very successful re-crowning done by Dr. Roberto Sosa Martinez, at Calle 26,#218 B x 27 y 29, in Col. Garcia Gineres. The clinic is the Central Odontológica de Yucatan, phone: 925-5920. Not only was the work unproblematic, but he has the nicest office I've been to in my whole life. If someone loves birds, or even fish, it's an added bonus to very good work, by a very kind man.

  9. Guess I forgot to mention – it was 3050pesos for the work and the crown.
    Glad his experience was different, really glad!

  10. Glad to hear it has all worked out. I, too, am in the process of having a bad implant from years ago repaired. Not fun! Thanks for sharing the name of your new dentist. I will add him to my address book as I am certain my mouth full of root canals and crowns will need upkeep…

  11. CorollaRN says:

    wayne just got the first part of a crown…..no pain, just $$$$$……….I am sorry you had all that trouble!! Better now!

Leave a Reply

