my new old yucatecan plated car!

So now I have a Yucatecan plated car.   When I bought the car, at christmas time, my migratory documents were in Immigration being renewed.  And although I have good clear copies of both sides of the card and the letter from Immigration stating that they had the card, I could not change ownership of the car.  Ni Modos.  I was told just to come back when I got my card.  The fact that the lady I bought the car from would be out of country was unimportant, I just needed copies of her id and utility bill.

So about a week ago I finally got my new Immigration card, Residente Permanente.  Now I need to go change the ownership of the car.  And along with this yucatecan plated car come a whole slew of new things to learn and do – tramites!    EEEEEschhhhhhhhhk!   I hate tramites.

So I have to find out about:

  • Tenencia (taxes), I don’t think I owe any since the car is 11 years old, 
  • Tags, they don’t need to be changed yearly, but I don’t really know or understand  the renewal process, 
  • Tarjeta de Circulation, what the heck is this, I have one, but don’t know what it is or how often to renew it!  
  • Car insurance, the car had several months left on its policy so I’m good there, and her agent is my agent, so that’s easy!  Here car insurance stays with the car!

ah well this kind of thing is supposed to help keep me from getting alzheimers, or dementia…..
maybe I should just learn french, that’s supposed to work too!

oh, and I need to go get my yucatan drivers license, OMG, will it never end?

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in car ownership, Tramites. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to my new old yucatecan plated car!

  1. yucalandia says:

    Debi,
    Just like Colorado has different DMV rules than California or New York, the Yucatan DMV rules are very different than Michoacan's. A fundamental rule of owning a Mexican car: Ignore the registration and license plate rules of other states ~ and pay attention only to your state's licensing and registration rules.

    For Yucatan's rules: Check out the article by Dr. Fry on Yucatan Living at: http://www.yucatanliving.com/yucatan-survivor/new-yucatan-road-rules.htm that summarizes the 300+ pages of Yucatan's rules of the road.

    i.e. Yucatan does not send out annual renewal notices: You have to go in.
    Yucatan does not require foreign-plated Temporary Import Permit cars to have current registrations in their home country. At last check: Only Baja California and Baja California Sur (and possibly the “free zone” parts of Sonora) require current registrations for foreign-plated cars. These areas are not related to Yucatan's rules, because those 3 areas are special free zones, where foreign-plated cars do not need Temporary Import Permits.

    For Yucatan: You are correct that you do not have to pay any annual tenencia on cars over 10 years old. There is also no tenencia charged for vehicles with original purchase prices less than some fixed threshold amounts for each of the past 9 years.

    Here is a table of the official values for Yucatan's official threshold values for past years for exemptions from the tenencia:
    Año Valor factura
    2003 $215,463
    2004 $226,647
    2005 $234,201
    2006 $243,694
    2007 $252,854
    2008 $269,361
    2009 $278,986
    2010 $291,262
    2011 $302,381
    2012 $313,391
    2013 $322,785
    “Información Sobre Tenencias 2013” Gobierno del Estado de Yucatân
    http://www.yucatan.gob.mx/menu/?id=tenencia

    If your original factura value was less than the amount in the table, then you do not owe anything. Read the official Yucatan State website for the actual rules on how to do this.

    “When in Rome, live like an Italian” makes really good sense:
    but “When in Yucatán, live like a Yucatecan.”

    not a Michoacaño.
    Happy Trails,
    steve

  2. I know the “advantages” of a (usually expired) foreign plate. They are the same advantages that flashed through Willie Sutton's mind on spotting a bank. Easy money.

    That my Mexico lets foreigners live down here and toodle about in cars with (usually expired) foreign plates never ceases to amaze me. Were I put in charge, all those cars would be confiscated. With appropriate advance warning, of course, giving the foreigners time to take the cars back where they came from and leave them.

    Then those folks who desire to live in Mexico can return on the bus or plane and, if they need a car, buy one here in the proper manner, all legal and such.

    That's what I think. Luckily for the foreigners, nobody pays me a moment of mind.

    While we're on the subject, it also keeps my eyeballs rolling when I read Gringo internet forums, etc., and see the constant inconveniences foreigners face due to these same foreign cars.

    Don't bring 'em, I say, and if you did, get rid of 'em. When in Rome, live like an Italian.

  3. mil gracias para su clarificacion! Don't commend me to quickly! – I do still have the foreign plated car. we are now a 2 car family! the advantages to a foreign plated car are no placas, no taxes, no renewals, no nothin, just insurance, gas, and maintenance.

  4. You should not owe regular taxes, but you'll owe a bit every year for the window sticker. I'm assuming things in Yucatán are the same as in Michoacán, hardly a wise assumption, I realize.

    When the plates must be changed, they will let you know, for sure.

    The tarjeta de circulación is just a card with the car's vital statistics printed on it. If you have an accident, the insurance agent will want to see it, and if a cop stops you, he will want to see it. It only gets changed when the plates are changed. Leave it in the glove compartment.

    Always have liability insurance, but I imagine you know that.

    You are to be commended for not driving around in Mexico with rusty, expired plates from a foreign country. That people can do that never fails to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

