vegetarian recipe – Sriracha Stirfry




I have a dish I have been making with more and more frequency lately – mostly because I can make a fairly large amount at one time, and because Tom and I both really like it.  Additionally the others who have had it say it’s really good as well.  Add to that the leftovers are great and easy to heat n eat.

And yes,  that’s tofu!  but honestly it’s good!














Ingredients

1 block of medium firm to firm tofu – cut in to large cubes and set to drain in a colander
1/2 k of green beans, cut in half
2 large carrots, cut in lengths similar to green bean halves, julienned
1 medium onion, cut in half and sliced
2 + tablespoons of course chopped garlic
1 poblano, seeded, halved lengthways and sliced
salt to taste
2  tblsps toasted sesame seeds
2 tblsps oliveoil
Sriracha sauce to taste


So the first thing I do is cut the tofu in to cubes and set in the colander to drain.   I then clean and prep the veggies

 in a large heavy pan I heat the olive oil till quite hot then toss in the tofu to toast the outsides- this helps to improve the texture, but I’ve also crumbled the tofu and added without frying, this helps cut down on the fat. 

after the tofu is browned, I transfer it to another plate and saute the veggies.  
We like crunchy so just till the colors start to turn.  


Once the veggies are done I toss back in the tofu, the sesame seeds, and the salt, then just toss it all together, taste, and serve.  

for a full meal presentation I serve this with either brown rice or quinoa.
About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Sriracha Stirfry, vegetarian recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to vegetarian recipe – Sriracha Stirfry

  1. Vegan would be really tough down here – I have to not think about chicken broth, meat stock, and animal fats when I eat out. I'm working towards eliminating eggs, but am not feeling too much stress over fish at the moment.
    my biggest issue is the weight , I've put on a fair amount now that I am eating so many more carbs, lean animal protein sure so is more conducive to weight loss and maintenance.

    congrats, and good on ya!

  2. Rachel – it is super easy and reheats easily, Tom says I made this batch too spicy – he's wrong!

  3. I went vegan this year and have learned to love tofu as well! The worst park is taking it out of the package haha. Looks great!

  4. Rachel says:

    Wow! That looks delicious! I am always looking for ways to eat meat-free and love spicy food..yummy!

Leave a Reply

