Toasted!

I’ve become less and less fond of everyday cooking.  I sure enjoy those all inclusive resorts, except of course you have to get up and get dressed!

This morning I was in the pantry and noticed I had a 6pack of black olives – so my brain jumped to attention and I decided to make tapenade!  OK, it’s 8am, WTF!   Out to the garden, grab some herbs and a lime, grab the food processor and ouila!   Tapenade and tomato sandwich for breakfast! 

Only problem is with our toaster – I think this is toaster #3 in 7 years.    They all suffer the same fate – they work fine EXCEPT that they stop staying down when you push the lever down,,,,,so you have to strand there holding it down while your toast toasts!   

Now I know what you’re thinking – she’s retired, it takes just a few minutes, yada, yada, yada – and you are correct.  But still it annoys me!

oh the stress!  I know what some of you are thinking – and the answer is No!  I have not been drinking!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Toasted!

  1. One childhood memory I have of my father is of him fixing the toaster — a regular ritual. He'd have the whole thing apart on the dining room table, springs and screws everywhere. But he managed to do it! I don't think today's toasters are so easy to repair. Today, he just goes to the diner for his toast! (Mom still can't make toast without having to scrape off the charred pieces over the sink — which is my second childhood memory about toast!)

  2. You are a planting a seed, young lady.

  3. twodogsinmerida.blogspot.com

    There are three that are oldies but goodies from the 60's. Enjoy!

  4. will you be my ghost writer? we could make a few bills!

  5. Melissa – I'm not able to track back on you to find out where you are posting recipes! que paso???????

  6. I've managed without a toaster for years. Hated having to hold it down until it was ready too. This month I've posted a few no cook recipes that might help you out…and don't involve toast. Bon appetit!

  7. A new book is in the making. Third World Problems of First World Housewives. I see it on the best seller list. Get working. Between slices of toast, that is.

Leave a Reply

