beautiful young girl looking for companionship

I worked another Spay n Neuter Clinic yesterday; This one in Uman. I don’t yet know the final count on animals spayed or neutered (rumors have it at about 150).

Driving in to Uman about 7:30am I see this severely emaciated dog on the sidewalk, and it is obvious that she is or has just recently finished nursing a litter of pups. I want to drive past, I try to drive past. But I can’t!

I pull over, grab my slip noose leash from the car door pocket and start towards her. And there standing on the sidewalk is a friend, also on the way to the clinic. She’s holding a pup. She has the 6 pups in a bag in her car. I speak to the woman of the house; explain that we are having a clinica de esterilizacion and that we can take all the dogs, have them fixed and then return them all to her at the end of the day. She offers to give them all to us as she can’t feed any of them. Well that’s just great. So Melody takes the pups, and I put the mom in my car. She’s never walked on leash, nor I suspect ridden in a car, and she is terrified.

We get to the clinic location and get all seven dogs in line for surgery – proceed to end of day, we were able to re-home 5 puppies. The last puppy was going home with another worker of the clinic, but just to get it healthy and re-home it. Puppies are easy to place.  Give me a young adult dog any day over a puppy.  

We couldn’t find anyone willing to foster the mom. She has an incredibly sweet temperment, she responded so quickly, although apprehensively to kindness and gentle touching.

She is so skinny. But remarkably she has no apparent skin diseases. We’re not sure of her age but I’d say young, only maybe a year old. She needs nourishment, socialization, kind human contact, a bath, or two, parasite medicine, some b vitamins with her food, and she will be an absolute dreamboat of a companion.

Just look at this beautiful girl.  

Image

Image 

Mom and babies – this foto by Larry Baker, thanks Larry

Can anyone foster her?  Or give her a home?

getting a little head scratch from a young girl.

Image

 trying to rest after surgery

Image

 such a long stressful day, trying hard to rest!

Image

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to beautiful young girl looking for companionship

  1. Laurel Emery says:

    Debi where is the Mom now? I have been thinking about her and the last little pup since yesterday at the clinic. Laurel

  2. Pingback: without a leg to stand on….. | Debi in Mérida

  3. Steve Cotton says:

    Interesting post. You have inspired me to write why I remain dog-less.

  4. Stan says:

    She does look sweet. My heart is gripped with sadness and anxiety when I see these emaciated callejeros/as. I’m with you on the affinity for adult rescues. Hoping she will find her place for a better future…

  5. Cindy & Dan says:

    Debi – good for you for getting 5 puppies placed. That is excellent news.
    That, on top of organizing the whole clinic! Anything else you want to take on Superwoman?

  6. Vikki says:

    Awww…Debi, she is so thin..so kind of you and Melody to stop and help her and her youngsters. Wish we could take on more but just can’t. I am sure you will be able to place her. Such a sweet face that denotes a gentle, loving disposition. 🙂

  7. Larry Baker says:

    She is so sweet. I’m so glad most of the puppies found homes.

Leave a Reply

