Update on ms Ermita, aka Mariposa, aka Mari

Little Miss Ermita went to the vet today.

She received a name while there, Mariposa, although I will likely just call her Mari.

Image

There’s really good stuff, and some bad stuff.

Things I knew, that have been confirmed:

She’s about 5 months old

She is full of parasites – She’s now on meds for that

She is anemic – in fact normally when a dog’s HCT number is 20% dr Tony recommends a blood transfusion, Mari’s number is 18%, normal is 37-55 – as soon as I get to the pharmacy she’ll be on meds for this.  No transfusion.

She has a skin condition,  demodectic mange, it is not contagious, to us, our dogs, or our cat.  and it is treatable.  She is on a treatment plan.

She still has a few fleas and ticks.  She’ll get another bath, and I bought Frontline.

Surprises:

she weighed in at 5.4kilos

All the scabs that I thought were skin issues are wounds from being bitten.

She’s close to going in to her first ‘heat’.  damnation!  We need to get her anemia under control so she can get fixed, muy pronto!

She does not have ehrlichia – whoop whoop hands in the air!

She does not have ear mites, but her ears are filthy dirty so daily epi-otic flush for a few days

She has vision problems – I noticed this last night, she was running in to a few things, and when you throw the ball she hears it before she sees it.  She is not blind. the retina just does not respond to light.  She could grown out of it as her health improves, but we aren’t counting on it.  She will need a special caregiver.

So overall a good checkup.  She was very good and tolerated all the poking and prodding very well.

Still looking for someone extra special to take care of this little girl!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on ms Ermita, aka Mariposa, aka Mari

  1. Barbara says:

    P.S. I am in Gig Harbor, WA

  2. Barbara says:

    Hi Debi –

    I just saw your request on Ron and Kathy’s blog. I left a message there about this but then thought duh – I should let you know directly. I have just located a disc for MS Office XP 2002 if that is not too old and if I can get it to you. It is in excellent shape. Just let me know.

  3. Happy New Year to you and Tom. Bless you for the love you give, and I hope that 2014 sees you finding homes for Little Mariposa and all the other abandoned pups that find their way to you. BTW we are still searching for a turtle for you but they have been shy lately,

Leave a Reply

