it’s official, I’m a convert

It doesn’t happen often, but it does happen occasionally – we get visitors from the USofA.   Seems most people would rather visit an all inclusive resort on the Caribbean than come to Merida, even with Tom and me being here, hmpffff.

Well newlyweds, and long long time friend Joe, and bride Eilleen came to Mexico for their honeymoon, ok first they spent a week at an all inclusive resort on the Caribbean, but they also came to Merida for a visit with us.  Very cool!

Years ago we introduced Joe to one of our favorite ‘fun read’ authors, Clive Cussler, and in particular to Cussler’s Dirt Pitt character. There must be 20 books in the Dirk Pitt series.  Well Joe brought with him, and luckily for us, the most recent Dirk Pitt adventure, Poseidon’s Arrow.  He left it for us since he finished it prior to his arrival in Merida.

Image

 

I picked it up the other day and am reading it.  I’ve had a kindle for several years now, and I hear people all the time going on about how they need a real book, to turn pages, to feel the paper, to flip back to re-read something, blah, blah, blah.  Well I am officially a convert, I prefer a kindle (for pleasure reading, not for research reading).  I tend to have several books going at once, can you imagine carrying around 3 or 4 books all the time?

 

Image

The kindle is so light weight, you can adjust the font (really important as we get older), you can slip it in to a small purse, it remembers where you were you can have all your current reading projects with you all the time…

Paper books are heavy, flipping pages always wanting to close in on you, where’s the book mark, get the big purse out, sniffle, sniffle, snort, sniff.  Yeah, I think I’m officially a kindle convert.  

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to it’s official, I’m a convert

  1. Joanne says:

    My husband bought me a Kindle a few years ago. It was the best gift and I didn’t even know that I wanted one! The other morning I woke up early, didn’t want to get out of bed, so I grabbed my Kindle. My glasses were not on my bedside table, so I just enlarged the font and was able to read quite comfortably. I love my Kindle.

  2. Steve Cotton says:

    Access to books is what brought me to Kindle. If I had not owned mine (actually I am on version 4, I think) over the past five years, I would have missed out on reading a lot of books. But like Calypso, I do miss seeing the shelves of books in my home. They were always good companions. That is until I realized my library is now in my head.

    • I do enjoy mine too. I am no good with Library books, just can’t seem to adhere to the timetable and restrictions. so the kindle is a good fit for me! I do still have several shelves of books I just can’t part with.

  3. Lane says:

    Me too, Debi. But I loved it even before I got it (knowing the access to all the books I would have) and I haven’t stopped loving it ever since! You were the one who sort of talked me in to it. For the first time in a very long time (since I have lived in Mexico)
    I can read just about any book I can think of. Libraries don’t like me very much because I am not good at returning books on time. Amazon and Kindle Books, on the other hand, they Love me!
    (God don’t make me have to boycott Amazon)
    So thanks for converting me, even before you truly drank the cool aid.
    Lane

  4. John Calypso says:

    ‘Bout time – carrying 60 or 70 books with you at all times is too cool and thousands of books without taking up a lot of shelf space – have to love it. Of course we have to adjust to being like most people we know – no sign of intelligence (where are the books?) 😉

Leave a Reply

