INAPAM and me!

In the USofA when you reach a certain age you become eligible for AARP (American Association of Retired People), which is a United States-based non-governmental organization and interest group, founded in 1958 by Ethel Percy Andrus, PhD, a retired educator from California.

AARP operates as a non-profit advocate for its members and as one of the most aarp-card_300powerful lobbying groups in the United States. 

AARP Services Inc. offers Medicare supplemental health insurance, discounts on prescription drugs and consumer goods, entertainment and travel packages, long-term care insurance and automobile, home and life insurance. AARP also provides quality control over the products and services made available by AARP-endorsed providers.

 

 

B-INAPAMHere in Mexico you have to wait till you are 60, but then you become eligible for INAPAM (INSTITUTO NACIONAL DE LAS PERSONAS ADULTAS MAYORES).

INAPAM’s Objectives are to promote integral human development for the elderly, by providing employment, occupation, earnings, assistance and opportunities necessary to achieve high levels of welfare and quality of life, and reducing extreme inequalities and gender inequities. 

Their vision is to consolidate the Institute as the governing body of programs and gerontological actions with the participation of the three branches of government and different sectors of the country.

With your INAPAM card you get all sorts of discounts, and that is what I am interested in.  In particular the discounts on bus fares.  INAPAM card holders get a 50% discount on the long distance bus lines.  Last year when a group of us went to Playa del Carmen, most of our group paid 178 pesos, Nancy and I pd over 350pesos each way.  Nancy has since received her INAPAM card.  I get to apply for mine at the beginning of 2015.  You get discounts on lots of other stuff too!  But I’m most excited about the bus discounts!

I can’t believe I’m actually looking forward to a birthday!  I tend to treat birthdays as a non entity. Growing up with your birthday as christmas eve sort of takes the special out of it.  But now!  Yippeee, I have a birthday coming!

 

my info on AARP came from Wikipedia, and the INAPAM info came from their website

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to INAPAM and me!

  1. Just got mine this week… only waited a few years to actually get the job done… More excited about the free entrance to ruined sites… Yippee!

  2. As Dr. B says, it pays to ask. When I was at an optical store, I noticed a sign giving students and teachers a 15% discount, so I asked if there was a similar discount for Inapam. Sure enough, there was. Walmart’s discount is greater during the first week of the month, but Walmart and Superama both apply the Inapam discount to OTC things. For some reason, hand cream but not deodorant and toothpaste. Even 5% makes it worth whipping out the card.

    • John Calypso says:

      Could tip Jennifer! I have used my card a few times – I will have to get more aggressive about asking 😉 Anita still has 6 years to go – I have had mine 7 already 😉

  3. I need to get over there and apply this next week. My child bride will have to wait till December.

  4. Not even 60 yet?! You’re just a child. I envy you. I would switch ages with you in a moment. As for the card, it’s great, mostly for the bus discounts, as you mention. You also get in free to lots of museums and stuff.

  5. Dr. B says:

    We’ve had INAPAM cards for 10 years now and it has saved us a bundle on pharmacies and the hospitals. Roger has to have a lot of tests for his post cancer checkups and he gets 20% of at most places. We’ve leaned to always ask. Besides , with INAPAM, symphony tickets are nearly 50% off depending on the seat location.

Leave a Reply

