Kinky Boots

I recently saw an ad for a showing of a film, “Kinky Boots”.  It was being shown at a venue that permits smoking, so I was unable/unwilling to go.

I find very little of interest on TV so am always looking for interesting movies.

I was able to find a copy of Kinky Boots and just watched it.  OMG I enjoyed it.

Surprisingly this is based on a true story.  A North England shoe factory that specializes in good quality mens oxfords and brogues,  is trying to stay afloat in a time when they have gone out of style.  After the owner dies,  the son comes back to run the factory only to discover  just how bad things are. He is determined to find a way to make a go of it to help preserve the livelihood of the workers.  His inspiration comes from an unlikely collaboration.  That’s enough, you’ll need to watch to find out more.  Although, one of my favorite lines is when the boardinghouse owner asks Lola, ‘are you a man?’, and then continues that she only wants to  know so that she knows how to leave the toilet seat.  I love that sense of  acceptance, and the look surprise on Lola’s face.

This is a fun movie, It’s not earth shattering, or mind expanding, it is good fun, with a bit of a message on living up to your potential, finding your path, doing the right thing, and acceptance.

I do so appreciate the British ability to portray  ‘wholesome kinkiness’, they handle subjects softly and more naturally than we Americans:  We like to sensationalize.

Anyway, I enjoyed the movie, and recommend it.

I also like that finding movies like this allow me to find other interesting, less than huge box office draws that are quite good, and interesting.  Next up “The Odd Life of Timothy Green”.

Image

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kinky Boots

  1. Tancho says:

    It was also a very successful Broadway Play.

  2. The Brits are weird. When I was in the newspaper business it was common knowledge that the most bizarre items almost invariably came out of England. And they make good movies too.

    If you don’t subscribe to Netflix, I recommend it to you, the Mexican version. Just 100 pesos a month, which they will conveniently take right out of your bank account or a credit card. My wife and I love it.

    • I agree that the Brits are weird, but I tend to like weird! Unfortunately the folks here in Merida badmouth Netflix MX, say it doesn’t offer much. I have found several online tools that are allowing me to gain access to some pretty cool movies.

      • Ignore them. The Mexican version of Netflix is great. It has tons of movies and television series (without the commercials!). Most are in English with subtitles. Highly recommended service.

      • Of course, it’s far better with a smart TV so you don’t have to watch it on a computer screen. And for about eight bucks a month!

  3. When we’re settled in, we’ve already resolved to host movie nights with our friends. Start making your movie requests now!

Leave a Reply

