Turtle and Burtle meet

Back in mid December 2013 I was gifted a yucatan box turtle. A friend received it but was willing to part with it, and knew I had been looking.  This turtle is named ‘Turtle’

Image

I enjoy tremendously going out in the garden and seeing Turtle out there moving about, exploring.  I frequently take treats for Turtle, tomato, apple, papaya, mango…

In March I was contacted by a friend who owns a house here but has returned to the USofA. She now rents her house and had concerns for her turtle who lived in a small interior strip of garden in which the tenant had just recently cut down most of the plants.

I made arrangements with the tenant, searched out, and relocated ‘Burtle’ to my garden.

Burtle is a furrowed wood turtle (Rhinoclemmys areolata) 

I was starting to worry, because although weeks will sometimes pass that I don’t see Turtle, I hadn’t seen Burtle since I released her to the garden. That is until 3 days ago.

I tend to wake before dawn, and once dawn arrives Mariposa and I go out back, we wander the garden, checking it out, looking for turtles, and listening to bird songs.  3 days ago, I was stupefied when I spied Burtle!  I grabbed her up and came racing to the house with her to grab my camera and some treats.  I returned to the garden with Burtle and treats, and then spied Turtle!  Oh My!

I placed them both in the grass near each other with the treats and took some fotos.  After a bit they each took off, in different directions.  I think this was the first time they’d met.

Image

Then yesterday afternoon, I was again out on garden walk about, I do this quite a few times during the day, gets me off my arse in front of the computer.  And oh my gosh, there were both Burtle and Turtle, together, under a large flowering ginger.  I was thrilled.

Imagine my surprise when on out early morning walkabout this am I spy both  of them again, together.

Image

I think they’ve become friends!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turtle and Burtle meet

  1. Bev says:

    I’ve never had a pet turtle nor wished for one, but after reading this I want two turtles too.

  2. From the look of that last shot, they may have love on their minds.

  3. Cherie Pittillo says:

    Thanks to the rain yesterday, five of our six box turtles came out to play in our backyard. Three formed a circle with heads together as if they were glad they just bumped into each other and reconnected again. I wonder if they communicate quicker than they walk. Of’ Blue, our largest turtle, didn’t appear, but those who did were welcomed with bits of pork for their protein. They actually race toward the patio and our kitchen door as soon as they see us. Quite fun!

  4. princesanancy2012 says:

    That is too cool Debi. Imagine their conversations. Ir’s always great to find a friend.

Leave a Reply

