Room with a view

This is the view from the dining room at my in laws house.

I have been enjoying it tremendously. Not just that they are here with me, or more accurately that we are here with them, but that this view includes many bird feeders that are a constant and changing stream of goldfinches, sparrows, finches, bluejays, catbirds, cowbirds, cardinals, threshers, wrens, and more. I do love watching birds.

This particular bank of feeders also has a small family of mice living in the flowers below. This too is a constant source of amusement. One of their cats is constantly hunting for the mice and frequently brings his trophy to proudly display. She then drops the mouse who runs back to the family hearth to be prey for another day.

 

 

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Room with a view

  1. Tancho says:

    You are sort of putting together the circle of life, birds, cats and mice…..

  2. I see Red Hot Pokers, as I think they are called in English, Cigarros in Spanish, and we have them too. Very nice.

  3. Lane says:

    Muy divertido! I love feeding the birds too. I recently put a bath out for them. You have to keep it clean all the time ’cause they’re dirty little rascals, but it’s fun watching them bathe. Happiness! It’s nice to hear from you Debi. Hugs to you and Tom!

Leave a Reply

