Things I learn while traveling

It’s always so good to get home.  We have just recently returned from a 3 week trip to the United States of America, where we visited family and friends. We traveled as far North as Gettysburg PA, and as far South as the Outer Banks (OBX) of North Carolina, with various stops in between.  We travelled by plane, train, bus, car, boat, and golf cart, oh, and we walked a fair bit too! I have so many ideas for posts rolling around in my head.  So many things to say.  I am however also trying to cut down on the amount of time I spend on the computer.

Both Tom and I are dealing with neck and shoulder issues, directly related to time spent in front of the computer, and more importantly to improper workstations.  We both know how to set up a proper, ergonomically correct, work space, but have not done it.

While on this trip we were with people or in locations with limited internet connectivity.  We went days without checking facebook (fb) or looking at emails.  Interestingly enough the world did not cease to exist????

One of the other things I realized while traveling is how mentally and psychologically debilitating the work I do with animal rescue here in Merida is to me. It drains my soul.  The horrors and suffering. It is the one thing that will force me out of Mexico.  I came to understand that the involvement diminishes my energy and outlook, I become heavy and dark of mind.  Much of what I do is as a conduit for rescues, referrals, and adoptions through facebook(fb), email, and web page transmissions.  I field many fb queries, and emails a day looking for assistance, guidance, and help for a dog, a cat, a horse, being abused, abandoned, or injured.  To help heal my soul I have started to block the notifications from several rescue sites, and from several local groups that deal with rescues, especially those prone to posting graphic fotos.  I keep saying I should just delete my fb acct altogether.  I may yet do that.

I have a post all written up about Gettysburg PA, I just need to add fotos.  Oh, and the boat trip along the Potomac River, and the lighthouses of North Carolina, and the docks, seafood, and art of Baltimore.  So much to say and share!

Tom and I enjoy traveling.  The stress of commitments and requirements of home are gone. No laundry, no yardwork, no meeting with this person or that, no meals to prepare…Just open your eyes and mind and enjoy.  We need to travel more often.  Ah but….and there is always the but isn’t there?  The animals, the yard, the house…I can’t imagine my life without animals in it, but it does make it difficult. And we have too many.  We need to re-home two dogs. Actually 4 dogs, but Tom won’t hear of it!  We disagree on which ones should stay.

I think we both realize the benefits of traveling, and always come back with ‘we’re gonna do more’, we’re gonna do this, not do that…Then we get home and fall right back in to the pattern.

Image

More later, commitments pending!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I learn while traveling

  1. Thanks for your comment Janice, I know you are enjoying being closer to family, but oh the cold. I couldn’t do it. With this trip I hadn’t taken but one light jacket. Everyone assured me it would be really warm, NOT!

  2. J says:

    Great posts– you have a Story People! My favorite bits of wisdom from Brian Andreas’ mind …many of his works adorned my office walls before I moved to Mérida. My second relating item Is the ‘cold’ you mentioned– yep, like Oregon- 60 in June? I am so loving the CA weather and sad to leave my granddaughter next week and return to the rainy NW. And then, the needy animals. Nuf said.
    It’s your move—

Leave a Reply

