BanaMex 0, Me 1

or maybe I should say Me 19632.87.  That is how many pesos were transferred out of my account last November, and it has taken this long with monthly meetings to finally get it reimbursed.   You can read the story here!

21 April was our first meeting with CONDUSEF as our Conciliador.  26 June was our 4th meeting  with BanaMex and CONDUSEF.  Banamex gave us a document stating that they would reimburse, to our account, the amount of money allowed to be diverted.

We were cautioned that in the past it was not unheard of for BanaMex to transfer the money, make the appropriate copies of statements showing the money in the account, and then transfer the money out.

Saturday we finally see the transfers, 5 separate withdrawls were perpetrated,  hit our online statement and of course our branch is closed on Saturdays.   Therefore 9am we are there, with every piece of paper we have regarding BanaMex and our accounts.  And lucky too, because they asked for some stuff we probably wouldn’t have thought to take.

 

Anyway, 1 1/2 hours after arrival we are walking out with a wad of pesos and NO MORE BANAMEX account.   Yipppeeeeeeeeeeee!

snoopy happydance

 

Disclaimer – everyone we worked with at the Paseo branch was super nice and helpful, it was just the pinche cabrons at corporate that tried to give us the rough stuff!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BanaMex 0, Me 1

  1. Pingback: How do YOU get money from your US bank to your Mexican one? - Playa del Carmen, Mexico forum

  2. I joined HSBC . The reason. It was the only bank, when I was in Merida for a couple of months whilst the building of the restaurant was going on , that would accept my Canadian debit card .I find now that I accept credit cards using the HSBC I never have issues with foreign credit or debit cards being accepted whichever country they come from. Also I had no issues getting a bank loan for my car… yes ,it was a bit of a hassle moreso because I am a foreigner but in case I ever need it , it will give me a good credit rating in the end.

  3. I think for now, we will resort to a can buried in someone else’s backyard, seems it will be safer there!

  4. Marc says:

    I am still OK and have had no serious issues with HSBC, as frustrating as they can be sometimes. Others have also suggested Bancomer to me, just as Felipe recommends. Congratulations, Debi. Your persistence paid off.

  5. Marjorie says:

    Congratulations! We too will not use Banamex

  6. Go to Bancomer. My wife and I opened an account there last week. It was a piece of cake. We walked out with debit cards, and the checks will be ready this week. Will pick them up at the branch too. Getting my account running online was easy and quick too.

    Banamex blows.

Leave a Reply

