just a little off the sides please

I’ve been cutting my own hair for probably 20+ years. I’ve been cutting Tom’s for the past 6 or so. People are always asking me where I get my hair cut, and then are a bit in disbelief and a little disappointed when I say I do it myself.  And just the other day Tom was asked where he gets his hair cut, he pointed at me.

I’ve always been a bit of a do it your-selfer.  I had acrylic nails for 30 years and did them myself for most of that time, I still have the stuff and have occasionally still put them on.

Up until moving here I always did my own pedicures.   I repair our clothes that need mending, I used to make Tom’s shirts. I don’t make to many clothing items anymore,  I blame it on not having a proper ironing board.  I have however made several bedcovers recently.  I/we do most of our own framing, painting, decorating, etc.

Anyway, back to the haircutting, I use a combination of both clippers, thinning scissors,  and straight edge scissors. Once I started cutting Tom’s hair I’d keep a note in the thing with the clippers.  Mostly because we’d change our minds about things and I/we couldn’t remember what we’d done the last time.

So it’s gotten to the point where Tom gets the yellow attachment for whole head with some scissor trimming, and I use the pink for most of mine with white for the front, plus thinning scissors, etc.

So why in the world did I today pull out the yellow attachment and start buzzing my whole head??????????????????

 

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to just a little off the sides please

  1. Ha! Maybe we went to different barber schools together, Debi.

    I’ve been cutting my own since selling a graphics biz to my partner in 2003. Hey, Mary likes me with short hair – and the sheep on the farm were the only others around to laugh about it. (Of course, I got to practice clipping on them, first.)

    If Tom gets wooly withya I still have some leftover sheep shears and sheep clippers for industrial sized dudes like him. Those clippers will cut thru the thickest jungle.

  2. Lane says:

    knowing you, it probably looks great!

    • I noticed last night that I am an egghead, and not in the cool brainiac way, but its really big and round at the top and tapers a bit at the chin. I would probably be a double yolk egg!

  3. Tancho says:

    Too bad you are so far away, you could teach my wife to do mine. I respect people that do things like that themselves. Making clothing, projects at home and something as important as haircuts.
    I finally broke down and purchased some clippers to trim the facial hair, and it really isn’t that difficult and kind of rewarding knowing you don’t have to pay someone for something like that.

  4. ah yes, thick, and lush, and maybe just a bit wavy!

  5. Kevin says:

    Do we have a picture of the new style? 🙂

  6. princesanancy2012 says:

    My daughter has been buzzing, cutting, bleaching, and coloring her and her husband’s hair for about 25 years. They always look like they came out of a magazine. Me, I couldn’t cut a quarter inch off any part of my hair. Talent is what it is and you have it Debi. Lucky!

  7. NORM says:

    It’s over a 100 today?

  8. Because you knew it would grow back in more beautiful?

Leave a Reply

