Baltimore, this isn’t my childhood Bawltmore

I grew up in Alexandria Virginia; DC,  old town Alexandria, Baltimore, the Inner Harbor, Georgetown, these were playgrounds for me.

we never called it Ball-T-more, and we didn’t call it BawMer, we always said BawlTmr. I recall the old derelict warehouses, the neighborhoods of brick row houses with chain link fencing, the drag strips, these are the memories I have.

2014-06-17 11.02.19I recall once going to Fort McHenry, it was sort of one of my first grownup dates, it was for some flag ceremony or something. I think I was 17.

The Baltimore that Tom and I visited with Doug and Robin was fairly unknown to me.

Upscale shi shi neighborhoods, with trendy coffee shops, restaurants, and boutiques, cool museums, appreciated graffiti, Edgar Allen Poes burial spot, I mean really, we toured several Poe’esqe locations.

P1010183

Oh My Gosh what a fun place it would be to live…if you had money.

This was the last stop before we came home, and it was strategically placed.  We knew that after all the family visits, we love our families, but they are stressful, that we’d need a detox before heading home.

I’m not sure we detoxed, but we did unwind and have a great time.

2014-06-16 15.18.24 2014-06-16 18.14.06 2014-06-16 19.27.50
2014-06-17 17.31.41 2014-06-17 20.00.49 2014-06-17 20.04.29 2014-06-18 13.12.50

Thank you Thank you Thank you!

oh, and I got gifted a baby!  you’ll have to peruse my previous posts to find out about my scoby baby!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

