Double, double toil and trouble; Fire burn, and caldron bubble.

witchhat

Tom asked me last night if I was feeling witchy, I of course heard something different and asked him ever so politely and my most syrupy sweet voice what had he said.   He repeated, “are you feeling witchy?”  he then went on to clarify by adding that because I am suddenly making things that ferment and bubble and froth.

 

After returning from Baltimore with starter for brewing Kombucha, I began brewing Kombucha, that was 20 June – you can read the startup process here

On 20 July I was poking around trying to figure out something to make for a meal and noticed the half cabbage that was starting to get a bit grey along the cut surfaces.  And I had just that morning read a post on facebook on a kombucha site that I follow about fermented ginger carrots: and as I had a bunch of carrots and 2 large pieces of fresh ginger I struck upon the idea to make sauerkraut of the 1/2 cabbage, and to make some fermented ginger carrots.

carrots kraut

So this morning I am checking my veg fermentations and there is a bit of mold on the carrots, actually on the brine above the carrots: after a bit of research this is apparently ok and expected whilst trying to ferment at the temperatures we are having here at the moment, so just lift off the mold and continue. The carrots still smell really fresh so I think it will be ok. I need to add some more brine to the kraut as it is no longer submerged, and it too still smells nice, well as nice as fermenting cabbage can smell.

So back to Tom’s question, am I feeling witchy? No, I don’t think so, it’s just that the fb access to the kombucha site has opened up some new ideas and I am acting on them.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Everyday Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Double, double toil and trouble; Fire burn, and caldron bubble.

  1. Michaelel says:

    Privetstvuyu!

    Posmotrite this fucking nice post:

    -> http://azusr.com/pages/coopers-imaging-arizona

    Phoenix AZ service

    Putin Huilo!

  2. Ceci padilla says:

    Hi. I found you because I am looking for a kombucha scoby, been trying for a while and nothing. Please if you are willing to share por exchange with me? Please? I hace milk and water kéfir if you want, i make my fermented veggies and water kéfir soda s bit never known kombucha. My name is Ceci i am 40 and hace a 8 year old girl named Kalani. Se will alzó like yo share pur ferment experiences with you. My phone is 9991601594

  3. just let me know if you need any wing of bat or eye of newt (gecko in my case)…I think I have both around here 🙂

  4. Lane says:

    Thanks for posting, Debi. Interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

